We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Business Choice in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best Business Choice in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed and designed business hotel in the safe area of all the high profile embassies.
Good food, nice rooms with good beds and clean.
Slightly further away from town during rush hours but worth the extra 10 minutes drive.
Not cheap like most hotels in Africa but well designed with friendly staff.
Just ask for a room on floor 3 or 4 as lower rooms tend to be very noisy during night times or early mornings (staff, generator, Parkin lot)
Excellent security with good access control.
Comes with the downside of a very quiet and empty bar in he evenings as locals are not permitted to enter.
Great bar on the top floor called 'The Nest' with good bar food and cocktails.
If you want to bring company they will be allowed to bar or room but will have to register with reception. No fuss is made so one can see this as an added security feature without interfering with ones privacy.
Great function facilities. Hosted an event for 150 people with catering which went like clockwork and the vibe, food and service were splendid.
Can only recommend the hotel!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    161
    49
    13
    13
See reviews for
44
98
50
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Most impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Proximity to The Village Market a definite asset. The bathroom design is a bit odd, but other than that, I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I loved the piano playing at diner. I loved the food and my room. The staff wasn't particularly great but they were kind and helpful. My bed was fantastic and i think that contributed to my oversleeping. :) Overall i loved the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited for business. Beautiful hotel. The staff were awsome. Room was small but really well appointed. The location is great as the Village Market has some great shopping and food. Felt very secure. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

For the price, I expected much better. I booked a Loft Business suite, only to discover on check-in that the suite was all on one floor with much less separation of work and sleep areas than shown on the website.

The service was variable. Food in the restaurant was not what I expect at a 5 star hotel. My colleague tried to get a substitution at the restaurant to accommodate a food allergy but there was so much miscommunication, she ended up with a very disappointing meal.

The hotel is beautifully designed and decorated but not worth the price they are charging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Simply happy with the customer care. Especially with the porters and drivers. Very helpful and genuinely friendly. Architecture is wonderful. A bit of disappointment in the eating area. But generally it was welcoming and wonderful

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I visited tribe hotel in the whole of April 13.welcoming of the guest is waoh,the place is situated next to village market a very cool place without any disturbing noise.security is definitely superb due to their well trained securities.food was soo delicious,accommodation well catered

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.