We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I visited tribe hotel in the whole of April 13.welcoming of the guest is waoh,the place is situated next to village market a very cool place without any disturbing noise.security is definitely superb due to their well trained securities.food was soo delicious,accommodation well catered

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    121
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
77
40
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Tribe Hotel on a business trip in April 13 end. It's a nice hotel in an upmarket locality of Nairobi. The hotel is nicely designed and the service is good. The rooms are a bit small though. The stay of 3 days was nice and delightful. The business conference in the hotel was well organized. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times for business as it is in a safe area and conveniently located next to Village Market. The staff are exceptional, rooms are immaculate, and the place is always buzzing with interesting people and cool events. The only downside, which I have experienced on every visit is that the rooms are not well insulated from noise so every time someone near your room closes their door it is startling and in the back of the hotel you can hear the traffic. I am a very heavy sleeper and it still disturbs me. The spa is really nice! I recommend Lucyanno for a the perfect mani pedi.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lobby and away from the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi. The rooms are clean and very attractive, the staff is nice and the restaurant is very good. The security is excellent, and as I was traveling for business, it was the hotel that was recommended by the US Embassy. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am using the same yardstick I apply to the rest of the world when I give this hotel a "Very Good" review. It is one of the nicest hotels in Nairobi and Kenya for that matter. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the layout is more like a club than a hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful. What really perplexes me is how they can take all the great stuff going on and create such a useless space out of everything. Outside has various water effects that will make trips across at night downright dangerous. The whole hotel has Wi-fi but I have not found a place yet with a strong signal. The breakfast is disjointed and has a awkward flow. The gym... well lets just say its focus is modern chic not crushing plates. I am not a huge guy and I can empty their racks. They do however have the most bad Larry punching bag room I have ever seen. I hope to see some dignitaries annihilating that bag some day. The prices are high but if you have spent some time in Kenya it is a welcome reprieve from more austere locations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inside of the compound. There is construction of an office building on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just finishing my 3rd stay, ten nights, at The Tribe. The Tribe is really a boutique hotel with its own very unique character and ambience. I enjoy it alot. First, the building is beautiful with striking architecture and African art all over, including in the rooms. The public areas offer generous and comfortable seating, much of it in a punk style that contrasts with the building. Like most boutique hotels, the rooms ca be slightly small. As some have noted, the bath area is very minimalist Scandanavian. In my room right now I am looking at a gorgeous combination of stone, dark wood, brick, and painted concrete. It's amazing. THe bed is outstanding! The included breakfast is very nice, more European or British than American. Service has been quite good. Their expediter met me at the airport as scheduled, which had not happened on my two previous visits. I do, however, have to agree with the comments that staff, while very nice, rarely seem able to resolve issues on the spot. The pool area is a lovely, multi-level area with food/drink service and sunbathing. There is also a well-regarded spa. Rooms have full amenities with safe and tea/coffee service in-room. Rates are not cheap, but consistent with the city. Overall, The Tribe is a lovely property where you can relax and be comfortable and secure. Could it be better? Yes. But, all in all, I have enjoyed my stay very much. Wold be delighted to return again.

Room Tip: Do note: The Tribe is in northwest Nairobi, totally across town from the airport and not near the CB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batya
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is in a rather good area of the city. Very close to UN hq and foreign embassies. The Village market mall is in the same closed and gated area.
Rooms are large and very comfortable. Many amenities including free wifi, coffee maker TV with movie channels.
The hotel design is modern and clean so is the pool area and restaurant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.