We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to UN, US Embassies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Providence RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to UN, US Embassies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am using the same yardstick I apply to the rest of the world when I give this hotel a "Very Good" review. It is one of the nicest hotels in Nairobi and Kenya for that matter. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the layout is more like a club than a hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful. What really perplexes me is how they can take all the great stuff going on and create such a useless space out of everything. Outside has various water effects that will make trips across at night downright dangerous. The whole hotel has Wi-fi but I have not found a place yet with a strong signal. The breakfast is disjointed and has a awkward flow. The gym... well lets just say its focus is modern chic not crushing plates. I am not a huge guy and I can empty their racks. They do however have the most bad Larry punching bag room I have ever seen. I hope to see some dignitaries annihilating that bag some day. The prices are high but if you have spent some time in Kenya it is a welcome reprieve from more austere locations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inside of the compound. There is construction of an office building on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    138
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
85
47
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just finishing my 3rd stay, ten nights, at The Tribe. The Tribe is really a boutique hotel with its own very unique character and ambience. I enjoy it alot. First, the building is beautiful with striking architecture and African art all over, including in the rooms. The public areas offer generous and comfortable seating, much of it in a punk style that contrasts with the building. Like most boutique hotels, the rooms ca be slightly small. As some have noted, the bath area is very minimalist Scandanavian. In my room right now I am looking at a gorgeous combination of stone, dark wood, brick, and painted concrete. It's amazing. THe bed is outstanding! The included breakfast is very nice, more European or British than American. Service has been quite good. Their expediter met me at the airport as scheduled, which had not happened on my two previous visits. I do, however, have to agree with the comments that staff, while very nice, rarely seem able to resolve issues on the spot. The pool area is a lovely, multi-level area with food/drink service and sunbathing. There is also a well-regarded spa. Rooms have full amenities with safe and tea/coffee service in-room. Rates are not cheap, but consistent with the city. Overall, The Tribe is a lovely property where you can relax and be comfortable and secure. Could it be better? Yes. But, all in all, I have enjoyed my stay very much. Wold be delighted to return again.

Room Tip: Do note: The Tribe is in northwest Nairobi, totally across town from the airport and not near the CB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batya
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is in a rather good area of the city. Very close to UN hq and foreign embassies. The Village market mall is in the same closed and gated area.
Rooms are large and very comfortable. Many amenities including free wifi, coffee maker TV with movie channels.
The hotel design is modern and clean so is the pool area and restaurant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Made a nice 1 day stint between safaris and traveling between parks. While I appreciated the air con and the toliets with full flush power, it lacked any real interesting aspects. It is a convenient walk to the shopping area next door. We didn't try any of the amenities. If I were on business I would stay there without hesitation, but for holiday I would try something different.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is nice and in a safe area. At the reception I always wonder if they understood what I was asking.Most of the time I realize they didn't. I ask for feathers pillow I got them two days later. We went for the safari and coming back three days later I ask for the same room,they wrote down my request, well when we got back we didn't get the same room because they gave it to someone else. The housekeeper come at 4 o'clock to prepare the room for the night, at 4 o'clock it never happen in any hotel in my life, anyway if you were in the room she won't come back later, sorry you lost your chance.
I also try the spa,I wanted to have a scrub and my husband a massage, very hard to find an appointment, we went on a friday and reserve for sunday, incredible sunday there was no appointment for us, I ask to talk to the manager, sorry is not on duty because is Easter Sunday, what?
Another incredible fact is that we spend Easter sunday at the hotel, we were thinking to relax at the swimming pool and have lunch there, no way, the restaurant was full, shouldn't the hotel guest have the priority? Ok well we can relax at the pool, NO because the hotel had an entertainment for the restaurant guests' kids, where? in the pool area, so splashing and shouting, and the two of us and another Japanese couple had to recover to our room.
I have a question for the manager, who is in charge to clean the stairs to go the gym, because a dead cockroach stays there for 3 days and insects wing never been clean.

Room Tip: the 503 has a nice garden and you can seat outside, a little bit noisy because of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was overall very happy with my stay at Tribe hotel. Hotel decor is stylish and rooms are comfortable (bathrooms could be better designed with greater privacy / larger space). Staff are all very friendly and make you feel welcome. Facilities are very good (pool area / bar / gym). Must check out the Adel pop-up shop (jewelry / clothing) in the hotel. Location is great, in an area full of embassies and very lush and scenic. Village market - a small shopping center is literally across the way from the hotel and is convenient for restaurants and shopping. I was only staying for one night and really appreciated being able to walk to vilage market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is located in the Parkside area near many foreign embassies, the UN HQ Kenya, and NGO offices. Like may places in Nairobi., there is a plethora of security guards and security measures; this is a very safe property.. Reception was courteous and straightforward. Very friendly. The room is comfortable albeit a bit small. Medium sized wardrobe but no dresser drawers, so clothing storage space is limited. Very comfortable bed! Flat screen TV with a lot of English programming (mostly South African). Bar and restaurant is very good and the breakfast has plenty of variety to offer most travelers. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Tribe does offer airport transportation and will pick up for about $40. The Village Plaza mall next door is frequented by the many ex-pats in the area and has a grocery store, pharmacy, and a good variety of eating (sit in dining and fast food). I would recommend this property and plan on staying her again on my next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.