We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have stayed twice now - when the hotel first opened, and more recently this year. The hotel is out of town, near the Village Market shopping centre which is lively and colourful. But it's main significance is that it is near the UN campus and diplomatic area ... just 10 mins away by cab. Given Nairobi traffic, that is ideal, if that is where you business is. Friendly and helpful staff are a feature, rooms and wifi are great, food OK. It really is a business hotel. One warning ... if you are exclusively a G4 mobile user, you have to go to the market to get a signal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    117
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
77
40
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I loved the room,really did.My only concern is the over the top security! The first night the security seemed bothered that i wanted to get through the gate that connects to the Village Market,perhaps the security personnel was having a bad night,but that doesn't excuse the lack of professionalism. Having checked out the next day,but had to return as i left an item in the room,which was safely deposited at the security desk,the security personnel(a different one from the night before) seemed bothered that we needed to get through the gate.Internet signal is very poor,so they definitely need to work on that.Love the architecture and decor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a boutique hotel, it is beautiful -- the architecture, the decor. No doubt about it. But... I stayed there exactly three years ago. Not much has changed. They even put me in exactly the same room.

The hotel internet. WIFI -- the signal strength is "very low". But, if you bring a cable, or get one from the desk, the service is satisfactory.

I found the service to be just fine at all levels and at all times. The breakfast buffet was good, though not great. Good pours at the bar.

The hotel is several klicks outside of Nairobi and be prepared to be isolated, except for the Village Market. The "shopping mall" is the cat's pajamas to the locals and pretty ho hum to me and my colleague. The hotel prides itself on everything that I hate about it -- niche, boutique hotel, minimalist everything, hyper modern everything. The trouble is, while some of this stuff look really great on the cover of Architectural Digest, it is not functional in real life. There is no bathroom, but there is vanity area at one end of the room. The vanity itself is a low table in green glass; no underneath, no drawers, just space. On top of it sits a porcelain bowl, the sink. It is deep and not very wide. The water comes out of a chrome pipe that comes to the side of the bowel; there is a joystick on top to control water flow. So, every time you want to adjust the water flow, you reach over, outside the sink, and get water all over everything. Not to mention that the little joystick is not finely calibrated, so you tend to get too much or too little of whatever you want whenever you touch it. Oh yes, I looked for 24 hours to find how to close the sink stopper -- no little lever or button or pull -- you have to press on the stopper to close it, then bop it smartly to make it pop open. I really don't like plunging into the scum to open the drain, then maneuvering the joystick to clean off my hand.

One entire end of the room is the john. You enter and to your right is this ugly green vanity table with the big white sink bowl, and to the right of that is a glass wall, with the toilet proudly sitting there to be seen from all across the room. There is no tub, just a shower, with a glass partition that does not stop the shower water from splashing all over the toilet area floor and out into the sink area.

There is no chair except for an ergonomic desk chair; the only way to watch the wall mounted TV is to sit on the bed. The banquette, very uncomfortable, had to serve as the luggage stand. No dresser, just a couple of very small shelves in the closet on which to put your undies and such.

My room overlooked the pool, scene of much noise from time to time. As the window was broken and wouldn't shut properly, it was worse than it had to be. Mind you, they put me in that room three years ago and the window was broken. They put me in the same room on this visit and the window was STILL broken.

Beautiful, but in the rooms, not practical.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been getting massages in hotels around the world for more than 25 years. I have lived in Africa for ten, and I have had massages in most of the hotels I've stayed where they have been available in more than 15 African countries. The Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya, in my opinion offers the best massages in Africa. I had five massages there by three or four different massage therapists, each of whom was outstanding, superbly trained, and very nice. The Tribe Hotel also offers excellent food, sizable rooms, state-of-the-art room facilities, a small gym, two good bars, a business centre, meeting rooms, has excellent service, is quiet, and is within three minutes' walk of a shopping centre. It's a great hotel and an excellent addition to the hotel options in Nairobi, where I have stayed several times over the past 15 years. Coming back there to stay after jaunts to three other countries on a business trip was almost as good as coming home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel in Nairobi, exceptional staff, comfortable ambiance, with a fresh Kenyan feel. Nice swimming pool and gym area. Amazing food, beautifully served and not badly prices.
The rooms have all the comforts, nicely styled, spacious and comfortable sleeping.
Adjacent shopping complex with restaurants, curious shops, banks and supermarkets.
The area of Gigiri is also very quiet and secure, most of the embassies and ambassadors residences are in this area, hence suitable to take a walk around and take in a bit of the neighborhood.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Staying at the Tribe is like staying in a little calm bubble inside of the congested and bustling city of Nairobi. It is very near to the United Nations officies and the Embassy district in Gigiri. The hotel is nicely decorated with a lot of African art works, nice and comfortable rooms and attentive service. Breakfast buffet is good with a mix of continental and African foods. The hotel is located next to the Mall "Village Market" and there is no need to have lunch or dinner at the hotel since there are plenty of good restaurants and cafes within five minutes walk. The gym is nice but small. Only one threadmill so sometimes there is a wait. The pool is also small but the area is nice with a variety of seating arrangements. Internet is free but you need to reconnect too often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or higher since the cars arriving at the lobby and the cooking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in in Africa. From the moment you arrive, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff is just unreal. Everyone greats you with a smile and they all make sure your need are met. I have stayed there several times for both business and tourism trips and they have all been excellent. The facilities at the hotel are amazing as well, the gym was very clean and great equipment as well as an out of this world boxing area. The spa was fantastic and an out of this world experience. The food at the hotel is also great, from the burger to the steak, sushi and pasta, all of which were world class.
Location wise is great depending on what your plans are, Its a bit far from the city center, so traffic can at times be a problem, but right next to the hotel you have the Village Market which is a great mall, and they have an amazing market on Friday which is a must for every visitor.

I can continue to go on forever here, I cant wait to go back and see everyone at Tribe and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Tablet Hotels, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.