We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in Tribe hotel during an African trip, with a group of 22 people.
Hotel- a 5 stars look, very nice interior and fabulous paintings and statues. The food was delicious and the breakfast varied.
Unfortunately the check-in was performed in 3 hours! We booked the rooms in advance and payed for it, unfortunately we found out that 7 rooms were not available; some of my colleagues were forced to find another logement around.
Finally the problem was resolved with our embassy help.
Me and my husband received the last available room , on the ground floor and a broken window.
I did not felt very comfortable with the situation and asked for another one, than we find out that the hotel was fully overbooked for that night.
But the next day we received another 5 floor room, witch was better than the first one, so they solved the problem the next day.We felt very secure at the Tribe, a very important issue in Africa.
Kenya has wonderful attractions and fabulous landscapes and definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I am a frequent traveller who stays in quite a few hotels each year. I had to pay 50% extra for an early check-in, 6AM, but I am glad my room was ready and I could get to sleep after a long flight across Africa. I still woke up in time for the buffet breakfast. The cook made a two-egg omelet with vegetables for me and I swear it was the best omelet I've had in a long while. I needed to get my hair done and I booked an appointment with the spa. The stylist was professional and he did a great job of perming and cutting my hair. At the hour when staff arrives to turn down the bed, I was presented with a little box of chocolates. That night I treated myself to a ribeye steak dinner with new potatos and asparagus, and topped it off with tiramasu served in a deep glass. Because I had to leave very early the next morning, I was able to check out the night before and book their taxi to the airport. You are off the beaten path at this hotel, but it is also quiet and safe. It's pricey but I felt I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outlaw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Tribe is one of our favorite properties in Kenya. From the exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff, who have been well trained in the philosophy of, "the customer is always right," to the amenities and dining, you will not be disappointed by the trendy, yet comfortable Tribe Hotel.

HIghlights: 1) Exceptional dining including first rate breakfast. From the omelette station to a wonderful selection of pastries, fruit, sushi (yes, sushi!) and meats, breakfast is a delight. The staff will also bring you lattes and cappuccinos from the coffee bar upstairs. 2) Gorgeous pool and outdoor dining area 3) Proximity to Village Market with its vast array of shops, restaurants and movie theater. The hotel is only a short walk away, which is very important if you do not have transportation. 4) Trendy bars - this is a great place for people watching

Minor drawbacks: The rooms are a little small, but well designed and comfortable. There is little closet or storage space, so be prepared to store most of your belongings in your suitcase. The internet is also a little spotty unless you are in the lobby. This can make it a little difficult if you need to work while staying at the hotel.

All in all, we always recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues visiting Nairobi and consider it one of our favorite hotels. The new manager, Michael Flint, is also extremely friendly and willing to do whatever is necessary to make your stay enjoyable. He assisted us in changing rooms during our stay and was very helpful.

Room Tip: The Tribe often hosts evening events by the pool. If you are interested in watching, pool side is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spend my first 4 nights on a 3 week Kenya trip at the Tribe hotel. I arrived after midnight from a 24 hours of travel and simply wanted to sleep but my room has no power (the rest of the hotel did). Rather than switch my room I had to stay up a extra hour while a maintenance person worked on the fuse box. Despite that rough beginning - the service and accommodations were very- it is without a doubt a 5 star hotel in design. The architecture and art is lovely. I still think it is way over priced otherwise. My "junior suite" was tiny. Room looked out onto parking lot (there really aren't great other view options). I tried to book services at the spa twice but they had no openings any of the times I was interested in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I don't wanna sound like I am exaggerating here; this hotel deserves a 6-star rating. It's one of the classiest, friendliest, and most convenient hotels I have stayed in in my life. The hotel is trendy; staff are super professional and friendly; and the food at the main restaurant is just amazing. It's clean, tidy, facilities are excellent, and the staff attend to your needs in a very personalized and efficient manner. One of the reasons I enjoyed my visit to Kenya was this hotel. I stayed for business and I wish I can bring my wife in the future to this hotel for a pleasure trip. don't hesitate and book here on your next trip to Kenya. One last note: the hotel is almost a walking distance from the UN camp if you're planning to come here on a business trip to the uptown district of Nairobi,

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by luch green areas from every angle so it doesn't make a difference whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

After arriving at the hotel at 4am after a very long international trip, we were pleasantly surprised at this amazing hotel. The staff were so friendly and accommodating the moment we arrived. They offered to prepare something for us in the kitchen if we were hungry and showed us to our room.

The room is small but perfect for what you need. Comfy beds, air conditioning, hot showers with good pressure. We were very happy. We wanted a place to be comfortable and get over our jet leg before heading on safari. Tribe more than met those expectations!

We were blown away with how friendly the staff were and how willing to help. The food is amazing! Breakfast is served buffet and there is something for everyone. We also had dinner at the hotel. The restaurant has great options, a little higher end menu, but with very reasonable pricing.

The Village Market is great if you want to venture out from the hotel but not go far. Live music, shopping and food. Enough to keep you entertained for an afternoon of evening.

We have decided to return to Tribe for our 2 nights before flying home and would not hesitate to suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashgToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to several hotels in Nairobi and this was the best one. IT's a unique design. I loved this hotel and my son did too. The room was very clean but a bit small and it was a bit noisy with the construction outside. Bathroom is beautiful and clean.
Common areas are warm and nice. The sealing is amazing. Bar is nice. I loved the spa. The Thai massage and the reflexology were the best I've ever had. Staff in the spa are very friendly.
It's a walking distance to Village Market. The Manager is very Professional and committed. I had lost my passport at the Village Market and it was at night but he managed to retrieve it from the Village Market. That was very efficient. I will definitely go back to this trendy and unique Hotel.

Room Tip: It's better to get rooms at higher floors to avoid noise in case there is construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#16 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#2 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#