We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tribe. Great Nairobi hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Tribe. Great Nairobi hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spend my first 4 nights on a 3 week Kenya trip at the Tribe hotel. I arrived after midnight from a 24 hours of travel and simply wanted to sleep but my room has no power (the rest of the hotel did). Rather than switch my room I had to stay up a extra hour while a maintenance person worked on the fuse box. Despite that rough beginning - the service and accommodations were very- it is without a doubt a 5 star hotel in design. The architecture and art is lovely. I still think it is way over priced otherwise. My "junior suite" was tiny. Room looked out onto parking lot (there really aren't great other view options). I tried to book services at the spa twice but they had no openings any of the times I was interested in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    138
    47
    12
    10
See reviews for
36
85
47
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I don't wanna sound like I am exaggerating here; this hotel deserves a 6-star rating. It's one of the classiest, friendliest, and most convenient hotels I have stayed in in my life. The hotel is trendy; staff are super professional and friendly; and the food at the main restaurant is just amazing. It's clean, tidy, facilities are excellent, and the staff attend to your needs in a very personalized and efficient manner. One of the reasons I enjoyed my visit to Kenya was this hotel. I stayed for business and I wish I can bring my wife in the future to this hotel for a pleasure trip. don't hesitate and book here on your next trip to Kenya. One last note: the hotel is almost a walking distance from the UN camp if you're planning to come here on a business trip to the uptown district of Nairobi,

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by luch green areas from every angle so it doesn't make a difference whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

After arriving at the hotel at 4am after a very long international trip, we were pleasantly surprised at this amazing hotel. The staff were so friendly and accommodating the moment we arrived. They offered to prepare something for us in the kitchen if we were hungry and showed us to our room.

The room is small but perfect for what you need. Comfy beds, air conditioning, hot showers with good pressure. We were very happy. We wanted a place to be comfortable and get over our jet leg before heading on safari. Tribe more than met those expectations!

We were blown away with how friendly the staff were and how willing to help. The food is amazing! Breakfast is served buffet and there is something for everyone. We also had dinner at the hotel. The restaurant has great options, a little higher end menu, but with very reasonable pricing.

The Village Market is great if you want to venture out from the hotel but not go far. Live music, shopping and food. Enough to keep you entertained for an afternoon of evening.

We have decided to return to Tribe for our 2 nights before flying home and would not hesitate to suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have been to several hotels in Nairobi and this was the best one. IT's a unique design. I loved this hotel and my son did too. The room was very clean but a bit small and it was a bit noisy with the construction outside. Bathroom is beautiful and clean.
Common areas are warm and nice. The sealing is amazing. Bar is nice. I loved the spa. The Thai massage and the reflexology were the best I've ever had. Staff in the spa are very friendly.
It's a walking distance to Village Market. The Manager is very Professional and committed. I had lost my passport at the Village Market and it was at night but he managed to retrieve it from the Village Market. That was very efficient. I will definitely go back to this trendy and unique Hotel.

Room Tip: It's better to get rooms at higher floors to avoid noise in case there is construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The service of the employees at the Tribe Hotel was of the best I have experienced. They dealt with every issue and request with genuine care and interest. They really seemed to care about teh customers.

The accommodation was excellent and the decor stunning. I would recommend the Tribe to anyone passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here in November '12 for a 5-day business trip. I liked the design and style of the hotel. Staff was very friendly. The restaurant was nice with a decent choice for breakfast and dinner (no sickness on my side, despite trying out quite a bit :-)). The service in the restaurant was partly a bit slow though, so don't go if you are in a hurry...
I had a massage in the spa facilities, which was of very high quality and in a nice setting. The meeting rooms were very good as well. Each evening a staff member brought some chocolate to the room, which was of course a nice surprise! The downside was that the hotel is quite outside, so no matter where in Nairobi you wanna go, there is a long commuting involved. Right next to the hotel there was a big construction, but I didn't feel disturbed by it. There is also asmall shopping mall next to the hotel, but I didn't have time to visit.

Room Tip: I wouldn't necessarily choose the souterain rooms, though they are close to facilities (restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is amazing. It is a nice mix of New York and Africa, which I never expected in Africa. Service was perfect, the meals were great and they even have a hamburger that I had to eat with a fork because it is so thick.

The swimming pool is very nice and there is a great area for children to watch movies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.