We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Experience in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Experience in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow..what a great spot out in the "burbs" of Nairobi near all the embassies. A very unique & lovely spot with a great staff, and outstanding manger & a safe & secure location. There is great local art work throughout the property including your room! Neat mood lighting in the the rather smallish but comfortable rooms. Even little packs of local coffee in the room!Restaurant was great & we especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet daily. Kenya coffee...to die for!Some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and a really nice gym. Take care to remember your working out at altitude though.
Very convenient to have "The Village" shopping area a very short walk away..which includes plety of shopping & dining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    130
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
84
44
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had a lengthy stay at the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi and couldn't have asked for better service and comfort. The hotel is architecturally beautiful and provides several social areas ideal for any occasion. The staff is above and beyond and attentive to your every need. I look forward to a return visit to the Tribe and definitely encourage all travelers to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I have recently been here for dinner and to use the Spa services...both experiences were wonderful and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to family, friends and colleagues!

The staff are friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I discovered this hotel 2 years ago. I have never been an overnight guest but I have been to Jiko restaurant severally and it is wonderful. Kaya Spa is very plush and beautifully designed. Sadly I had a bad experience with their massage done by a certain therapist. The room was cold and the intensity of the massage was much too vigorous. As a result my low-grade illness I had at the time was severely worsened by the effect of the massage on my lymphatic system. When I gave the therapist this feedback she dismissed my case as a "healing reaction." Not! - Immediately afterwards, I was completely down for two days! I still recommend Kaya spa to my friends, just not that particular therapist, and I am a HUGE fan of the Tribe hotel.I truly believe it is one of Kenya's very best and I most thoroughly enjoy going there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Kenya and we decided to stay at the Tribe Hotel 2 nights before our tour began at the Fairmont Nairobi hotel. The location of The Tribe is in a very pretty area of Nairobi near the U.N. compound and the U.S. Embassy. When you first arrive, you pass through a gated area which entrances to a local mall or shopping village. You must then pass through another gate and armed security to get into the hotel parking lot. They take their security very seriously which I was happy to see. All around the hotel, the flowers were in full bloom - everything from bougainvilla to hibiscus and other tropicals. The hotel was very modern and very eclectic - great sitting areas and bars inside and an outdoor bar called the Nest which overlooks the lovely pool. At night the pool and surrounding area is lit beautifully. The room was wonderful and again very eclectic but very comfortable. Many of the guests seemed to be younger than us, but that's not hard to do and many were likely European but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The concierge contracted for a driver to take us to the Karen Blixen museum and to the Giraffe Center. Our driver was very well educated and interested in our thoughts of his country and wanted to share his knowledge with us which we appreciated. One last thing, we did take advantage of the spa and had massages after our long flights. The spa was beautiful and we felt rejuvenated after an hour of pampering. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After briefly visiting Tribe for drinks in September, I was keen to try it for my latest visit to Nairobi. I must say that staying here was a wise choice - this is my kind of hotel. Comfortable and with all the ameneties one wants on the road...but more importantly, it really captures the modern Nairobi identity, an identity that has moved beyond staid history, and moved beyond the Überpampering found at many of the classic hotels in town. Tribe is the heart of new Nairobi, vibrant, innovative, detail oriented, and fun. The design captures this, and the staff and service exude it at all times. There is no concept of colonial era deference to visitors; instead hotel guests are treated in a helpful and friendly manner that is friendly and genuine. I really appreciated that, almost as much as I appreciated the rainshowers, modern gym with free personal trainer, and great beds.

Finally, a couple of things that also stood out are often pet peeves of mine: charges for bottled water and for internet. At Tribe, you get unlimited bottled water at no charge, and free wifi (among the fastest in town). All in all, nice touches that will bring me back again.

Room Tip: A lot of unique options due to the design...2nd floor wings are quiet (228 is furthest from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Relocated to the tribe from a nearby substandard hotel(Windsor). The experience from the lobby to guest service was amazing. Rooms were slighly costy but worth it. Our dining experience augmented by the hotel's ambience was absolutely gorgeous.

I would recommend the tribe to anyone looking to stay away from the city and for its modern touch and elegance

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.