We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“One of our favorite hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Kenya and we decided to stay at the Tribe Hotel 2 nights before our tour began at the Fairmont Nairobi hotel. The location of The Tribe is in a very pretty area of Nairobi near the U.N. compound and the U.S. Embassy. When you first arrive, you pass through a gated area which entrances to a local mall or shopping village. You must then pass through another gate and armed security to get into the hotel parking lot. They take their security very seriously which I was happy to see. All around the hotel, the flowers were in full bloom - everything from bougainvilla to hibiscus and other tropicals. The hotel was very modern and very eclectic - great sitting areas and bars inside and an outdoor bar called the Nest which overlooks the lovely pool. At night the pool and surrounding area is lit beautifully. The room was wonderful and again very eclectic but very comfortable. Many of the guests seemed to be younger than us, but that's not hard to do and many were likely European but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The concierge contracted for a driver to take us to the Karen Blixen museum and to the Giraffe Center. Our driver was very well educated and interested in our thoughts of his country and wanted to share his knowledge with us which we appreciated. One last thing, we did take advantage of the spa and had massages after our long flights. The spa was beautiful and we felt rejuvenated after an hour of pampering. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    124
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
80
40
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After briefly visiting Tribe for drinks in September, I was keen to try it for my latest visit to Nairobi. I must say that staying here was a wise choice - this is my kind of hotel. Comfortable and with all the ameneties one wants on the road...but more importantly, it really captures the modern Nairobi identity, an identity that has moved beyond staid history, and moved beyond the Überpampering found at many of the classic hotels in town. Tribe is the heart of new Nairobi, vibrant, innovative, detail oriented, and fun. The design captures this, and the staff and service exude it at all times. There is no concept of colonial era deference to visitors; instead hotel guests are treated in a helpful and friendly manner that is friendly and genuine. I really appreciated that, almost as much as I appreciated the rainshowers, modern gym with free personal trainer, and great beds.

Finally, a couple of things that also stood out are often pet peeves of mine: charges for bottled water and for internet. At Tribe, you get unlimited bottled water at no charge, and free wifi (among the fastest in town). All in all, nice touches that will bring me back again.

Room Tip: A lot of unique options due to the design...2nd floor wings are quiet (228 is furthest from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Relocated to the tribe from a nearby substandard hotel(Windsor). The experience from the lobby to guest service was amazing. Rooms were slighly costy but worth it. Our dining experience augmented by the hotel's ambience was absolutely gorgeous.

I would recommend the tribe to anyone looking to stay away from the city and for its modern touch and elegance

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fantastic rooms. Great service. Loved their food. Nice pool area although kind of tight. The only complaint is the price. On the very high side. They cater to diplomats who dont care if overcharged. Great location in Village Market shopping area and very good security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Tribe is a shi shi hotel in a beautiful residential area of Nairobi. It is located beside a small upscale outdoor mall. The decor is modern, clean and upscale. The room was lovely and service impeccable. We enjoyed a quiet intimate dinner on the pool deck under the stars. Two of the neighbouring tables were located on a small finger of decking that reached out into the pool. I wondered aloud if anyone ever got up from the table, took a misstep and landed in the water. Sure enough, before we concluded our meal someone stood up from the aforementioned table and stepped back into the pool! Be warned, if you want to stay on the safe side but eat under the stars ask for a table at poolside, not inside :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are small, trendy and clean. The hotel is away from the city center and a 5 minute walk to a large outdoor shopping center. The mall has several dining options- fast food and sit down.

I was hoping to enjoy a day at the spa, but couldn't even bear to sit in the changing/relaxation area due to the smell of mold.

The receptionist admitted that they had a problem with water seeping in- in the changing rooms but not in the massage areas.

I do wish they offered this explanation during booking so that I could have booked an appointment elsewhere.
It is also a health concern for some of us that have severe allergies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel have a unique taste and look with amazing arithtecture made with Africa history in mind
The food was truly african taste
The training room are modern and designed with African tough
The location is good with green surrounding environment

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.