We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hants, Uk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel deserves every one of its five stars. The food is excellent, the accomodation clean and comfortable and the staff are all very polite, attentive and efficient.
A recent two night stay during some time working in Nairobi was superb, I particularly enjoyed having a cold beer or three in the comfortable downstairs bar after a busy day and chatting with the staff.
The pool is a little more designer than is practical for a good swim but it does add to the overall look and feel of the place, just be careful if you decide to dine on the terrace of an evening that you don't take an unexpected dip! There are gym facilities available that are well enough equipped for a good workout and a sauna too
Interior decor is very modern and African/Kenyan themes, there are plenty of areas for seating and meeting inside and a sheltered front security/reception point. The village market that consists of a few shops, bars, takeaways and is a short stroll up some steps and across the car park with a security guard posted on the top gate.
This is a luxury hotel, something of an oasis amongst the backdrop of the rest of Nairobi, the management take guest satisfaction extremely seriously and whilst I had no complaints, I had no doubts that any issues would be resolved quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    154
    48
    13
    13
See reviews for
42
94
49
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Tribe in july 2012. We were a group of 14 ( children and growups) We had a exellent stay - and we really enjoyed the hotell , the resturant and the safe enviroment. Close by you have a shopping mail - that have also nice cafe etc. When we come back to Nairobi we will defently stay here again:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the ground floor close to reception, away from the road and the gym. (in the twenties)

I was advised by my colleagues that this was for the bet as those rooms where noisy.

The food was fantastic, the staff friendly and accommodating. The rooms clean, spacious and in good working order.

I had plenty of hot water in the shower and the rooms were cleaned immaculately every day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've been going to The Tribe for brunch for 2 years now and I am yet to be disappointed by their Sunday brunch. The menu includes any type of egg your heart desires, an wonderful array of Indian vegetarian dishes, cold cuts, cakes, pastries, waffles, pies, ice-cream, chocolate fondue, fresh fruit and even sushi! On the drinks side they have special cocktails, fresh fruit juice, coffees and herbal tea. This is not the typical buffet that bores the palate, its the kind that leaves you in anticipation for your next visit.

An excellent place for a lazy Sunday morning/afternoon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I'm pleased we did not pay full price for this hotel. Rooms were cramped and the toilet was separated from the bedroom by an ill-fitting shower curtain. Staff were cool and a bit unfriendly. We requested a twin room and were given a double. There was no in room safe and the DVD player did not work. The water would not drain away from the sink and when we reported it - 12 hours later nobody had been to fix it. Breakfast was lovely and the pool area spectacular but it was a case of "all fur and no knickers" full price $360 per night, even at the discounted $260 we paid it was still not good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Fantastic massage - excellent attention to detail. Ask for Walter. One of the most skilled masseuses I have had anywhere in the world. Excellent service. Clean, calm surroundings. Lovely artwork. Tea, fruit, and aromatic spa products. Worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family spent a few nights at the hotel and enjoyed our experience mainly because of the excellent service by each of staff in this hotel. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfast was a meal the whole family looked forward to before making our way out for sigtseeing. High level of security that was not expected but welcome. The gym has good machines and with a very helpful trainer. Open 24 hours.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher ther floor better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.