We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaya Massage at Kaya Spa/Tribe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
charleston, sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kaya Massage at Kaya Spa/Tribe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Fantastic massage - excellent attention to detail. Ask for Walter. One of the most skilled masseuses I have had anywhere in the world. Excellent service. Clean, calm surroundings. Lovely artwork. Tea, fruit, and aromatic spa products. Worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    138
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
85
47
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family spent a few nights at the hotel and enjoyed our experience mainly because of the excellent service by each of staff in this hotel. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfast was a meal the whole family looked forward to before making our way out for sigtseeing. High level of security that was not expected but welcome. The gym has good machines and with a very helpful trainer. Open 24 hours.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher ther floor better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for a week on a recent visit to Nairobi and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It is a very safe hotel with excellent customer service. The rooms are more than adequate and the art displayed throughout the hotel is stunning. It is also conveniently located right across the village center mall which is full of several shops and eating places. Make sure you check out the Masai market which comes every Friday on the mall parking lot.

The hotel is able to arrange various day trips to various safaris in and around Nairobi.

It would be great if each room had an iron. Having said that, one was immediately provided for me upon request.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Located adjacent to an upscale shopping mall - African style - we found The Tribe Hotel to be comfortable, convenient and safe. The staff was very helpful in making recommendations, and even found a tour guide/driver for us for a one day photography safari. The mall features vendors selling their own products in the open air as well as restaurants, a food court and other shopping. Our room was quite large and modern, and it was cleaned and maintained well during our stay. Breakfast was served with both buffet options and custom orders. We usually opted for fresh fruit and a cooked entree. We were here for over two weeks, and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our colleagues who were close to the restaurant/bar had a problem with noise. Although the staff tol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is another excellent place to stay in while in Nairobi. Do not miss! The architecture, attitude, atmosphere, it all reflects the new Kenya, standing firm and proud! Make sure to be a part of, it if only for a night. Quite an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I always base my opinion on hotels as regards value for money. I recently stopped over for one night at the Tribe Hotel and thought it was the worst value for money I’ve ever experienced. $315 for one night without breakfast, windows not sufficient to keep out the noise, all night long, of the busy Limuru Road adjacent to the hotel, hotel employees knocking on the door believing I was someone else and on checking out, in answer to the usual “did you sleep well?” I said that I’d actually been quite ill and therefore couldn’t honestly say I’d slept well, to which I got the customary big smile and the reply “glad you’re feeling better now (I never said that) and that you enjoyed your stay (or that!) and we look forward to seeing you again soon.” Seriously!! However, as this is the first negative review I’ve written anywhere of any hotel (and that makes me feel a little uncomfortable) I’d like to emphasise that I don’t consider Tribe to be a terrible hotel, rather just terrible value for money. The restaurant, although the menu is rather limited, in my opinion serves well thought-out and well executed dishes made with quality ingredients. The service there seems both more professional and more genuinely friendly and, in total contrast to the hotel, it is good value for money compared to all the other hotel restaurants in Nairobi I’ve experienced to date.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the adjacent Limuru Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at the Tribe hotel for a total of three (3) nights and I really have to honor the hotel with top marks, especially when considering that it is located in Nairobi! In fact it is located in the Gigiri area (Diplomatic district) that is nice and safe if a bit far from the center. It is truly a boutique hotel with very good contemporary design, tasteful African art pieces, excellent food and top notch bathroom amenities (Damiana). My only warning would be that if you travel with someone with whom you are not intimate, be aware that the bathroom is not really separated from the bedroom and therefore "noises" cannot be isolated... The staff is attentive and helpful thus offering an excellent service. If in Nairobi again, I shall definitely stay at the Tribe hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.