We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A big surprise for Africa, was the Tribe Hotel near downtown Nairobi Kenya. Beautifully appointed rooms and suites, first class service, free full breakfast, free mini-bar in room, lovely grounds, free wifi.

I'll be here for two weeks on business.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side overlooking the pool for a quieter stay. Don't stay on the first floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    149
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
42
90
48
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stunning design, fantastic roof deck bar, great gym & pool , beautiful art everywhere you look, helpful and caring staff and a modern stylish exquisitely comfortable room. Prices are high but well worth it. A true oasis in the chaos of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Some room seem underground, others have view of parking. Try to get view of pool & forest beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Metro
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Many advantages and some disadvantages. I stayed a month...
-Staff is hard working and customer focused.
-Security is present, but it can never be good enough
-Ideal for those with business at the UN or nearby embassies. Travel time is minutes and walking takes ten minutes max. Proximity to UN avoids Nairobi's dreaded rush hour traffic jams made worse when it rains.
-Located next door to one of Nairobi's best shopping malls, with a food court and several nice restaurants and a laundry.
-Fast internet. Back up generators when the electricity fails.
-While many like the "new look" African decor I found it it off-putting.
-Rooms are strangely configured and not guest friendly-- strange shapes, textures and little space for clothes. Lots of glass with sharp edges...

Room Tip: Quieter is better, stay away from the bar and kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

You have a sprawling mall next to u with upmarket restaurants and the diplomatic enclave along with UNEP regional HQ next door. Located little distant from the airport but what a nice feeling when u get there. Rooms too are top class.
I am from Kenya but many a times suffering from short regional trips like to stay over night in a hotel.
Food is nice the steak is marvelous. Worth it if u have found a good corporate rate.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

An ideally located hotel in Nairobi - out of the bustle of the city, but easy enough to access. Great food, good service, friendly staff. The design takes some getting used to - its not your typical East Africa hotel. And that is what is so neat about it.
This was my third visit. And I plan to stay again when next I am in Kenya!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a beautiful ultra-modern hotel. Great thought went into all details and designs. Its very close to the Village Market; which is a shopping mall with a food court. Friendly staff. Also, it a great place to hang out and enjoy a cocktail.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but managed to enjoy ourselves to the fullest. Tribe is a beautiful hotel and quite conveniently located to the Village Market, just a few steps away. The staff was friendly and very helpful, our room quite spacious for our party of 4. We enjoyed our delicious lunch poolside and then our kids enjoyed a splash in the pool to cool off. Dinner was again very delicious, my appetiser was delightful as was my entree...the only negative remark I have is that our coffee and tea took quite a long time to arrive, but we believe the hotel got slammed! Other than this, we enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Tribe without reservation...we would love to come back there soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.