We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising design hotel in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“surprising design hotel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Roughly a 40 minute drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, we were impressed the minute we walked in the lobby with comfortable lounge chairs and quirky and modern African art and sculptures. While waiting to be checked in, they served us with a fresh tropical fruit punch which was delicious and very refreshing. The room was decorated in the same modern African theme with a bold red wall on one side and some paintings around. The provide tea and coffee facilities but they have an extra touch with ground coffee and french press, a far cry from the coffee sachets that hotels normally provide.

The bathroom is open plan with the huge tub and sink and the shower/toilet in the enclosed area. The bed is very comfortable with fluffy pillows. I was dying for some rest before the early wake up for the safari the next morning but I guess the walls are a bit thin that I can hear my neighbour turn on the tap, slamming doors and the cars outside.

The hotel is next to the Village Market complex where you can get essentials from Nakumatt or Woolworths but the rest is pretty much standard shopping. It's mostly frequented by expats as the complex is near the diplomatic area where consulates/embassies are located.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the upper floors (they're only four stories high) or away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    120
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
77
40
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

When we discovered George was the only colorist at this hip, artsy studio, we figured we'd be getting more attention than usual. Understatement of the century. After examining our brassy highlights, he discerned the type of shampoo we used (the wrong kind) and the level of shower pressure we liked (the weak kind), and recommended more color-friendly options. He gently rebuffed our idea of an allover auburn shade, explaining that red fades quickly and requires constant upkeep. Instead, George proposed enhancing the natural russet in our dark hair with more manageable threads of cinnamon. The fiery glints solicited so many compliments, we might just have to get used to being the center of attention..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We enjoyed a nice evening and drinks at Nest - beautiful spot, great place to hang out an meet friends, nice views. We will be back! the hotel looks great too - didn't have a chance to explore but we will next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

It is perhaps important for readers to know that I live in Africa, but have traveled a lot and stayed in many fantastic hotels. In fact I always do extensive research on tripadvisor before staying at any hotel. My husband and I also own a hotel, so we do know the business and know what it entails to run a hotel in Africa. So, that being said, I have to say that TRIBE is absolutely one of the coolest, most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail in the aesthetics of the place is almost excruciating. Every tile, every colour, every fabric has been very carefully chosen to create an artistic and pleasing atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. But everything pales in comparison to the utter "coolness" of the place. Every stairway, every hallway, the lobby, the lighting, nothing is standard hotel ware. There are areas of the hotel where you feel that you are in a Gallery of African Art. I love this place!
In a place where aesthetic is so important, it is inevitable that there will be some issues of form over function, and that is the case here too. For example, the shape of the sink in the bathrooms, combined with the style of taps means that, if you are not careful, the water will splash right up onto your stomach when you turn on the tap. But if I have a choice of getting my stomach wet or staying at the overpriced, tired and ugly Hilton in town, I choose a wet stomach, thank you very much.
The one other issue that was a bit of a problem when we stayed there was a unpleasant odour coming from the bathtub drain. We solved the problem by stuffing a towel in the drain, but I would hope that they would look at a more permanent solution.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the stairway as there is some heavy air conditioning noise coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful design by any standards, although some of this is imaginative use of what is quite a small space, in both bedrooms and public areas. But a pleasant contrast to many Nairobi hotels which are very smooth "grand dames" but showing their age. Well equipped and very modern and comfortable, only the internet was not up to scratch. Staff were all well trained and helpful - although this is true in in my experience this is normally the case in good Nairobi hotels. Food was good, very elaborate presentation, the restaurant was packed, looked like many were non residents so a lively scene. Location good for security, shopping at next door mall, but given the currently terrible Nairobi traffic, do check the location is close to where you plan to visit - its a long haul from the international airport. If you want a new hotel for business, the Sankara may be a better choice - not quite as chic but every bit as slick and more affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Tribe is a mix of strong pluses and significant minuses.

The design is carefully thought through - I don't find all of it esthetically pleasing, but I recognise that care was taken; this isn't an anonymous concrete block. It has a beautiful spa with good technicians and relaxation rooms where you're offered juice, tea and fruit. There's a top-notch male reflexologist. International spa prices, or close to.

On both stays, my rooms lacked soundproofing, especially when there was a connecting door, but also when there wasn't. All the room doors close noisily - surely this could be fixed. Some rooms are near the road, with a bit of street noise. Rooms on the ground floor mean you can't leave sliding doors open for air at night.

The shower and toilet are essentially open to the room, with very little privacy; not everyone may be comfortable with that when sharing. Wi-fi was available, but slow and cut out frequently, requiring one to re-register online - tedious. The bed was comfortable, and the heating worked well. Good desk, strong desk light. Hotel information is contained in three separate binders; cute but not helpful.

The first day's room bar was free (apart from alcohol, I think), but the bar was pretty bare. There are tea-and-coffee making facilities with a proper coffee plunger - good tea, sour coffee.

The buffet breakfast is superb. Part of the breakfast area also works as a business meeting space. The bar and lobby are also well configured for meetings. There are two walls of delightfully well-stocked bookshelves in the public areas.

Village Market next door has an excellent coffee shop, Nakumatt supermarket, newsagent, ATMs and food court. On Fridays, Maasai Market sets up in the upstairs covered parking area. Convenient if you're here on business and have limited time to find essentials.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great hotel. Overall it is aesthetically pleasing and the staff could not be any more friendly. Its proximity to the Village Market makes it easy to grab food any time of day should you not choose to enjoy the wonderful food served in the hotel. The roof top bar is also a great place for a few drinks in the wonderful cool evening air. Only drawback is the distance from the airports, but the security, cleanliness and staff more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
Charming, City...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.