We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the coolest hotels in Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of the coolest hotels in Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful design by any standards, although some of this is imaginative use of what is quite a small space, in both bedrooms and public areas. But a pleasant contrast to many Nairobi hotels which are very smooth "grand dames" but showing their age. Well equipped and very modern and comfortable, only the internet was not up to scratch. Staff were all well trained and helpful - although this is true in in my experience this is normally the case in good Nairobi hotels. Food was good, very elaborate presentation, the restaurant was packed, looked like many were non residents so a lively scene. Location good for security, shopping at next door mall, but given the currently terrible Nairobi traffic, do check the location is close to where you plan to visit - its a long haul from the international airport. If you want a new hotel for business, the Sankara may be a better choice - not quite as chic but every bit as slick and more affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    157
    49
    13
    13
See reviews for
44
96
49
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Tribe is a mix of strong pluses and significant minuses.

The design is carefully thought through - I don't find all of it esthetically pleasing, but I recognise that care was taken; this isn't an anonymous concrete block. It has a beautiful spa with good technicians and relaxation rooms where you're offered juice, tea and fruit. There's a top-notch male reflexologist. International spa prices, or close to.

On both stays, my rooms lacked soundproofing, especially when there was a connecting door, but also when there wasn't. All the room doors close noisily - surely this could be fixed. Some rooms are near the road, with a bit of street noise. Rooms on the ground floor mean you can't leave sliding doors open for air at night.

The shower and toilet are essentially open to the room, with very little privacy; not everyone may be comfortable with that when sharing. Wi-fi was available, but slow and cut out frequently, requiring one to re-register online - tedious. The bed was comfortable, and the heating worked well. Good desk, strong desk light. Hotel information is contained in three separate binders; cute but not helpful.

The first day's room bar was free (apart from alcohol, I think), but the bar was pretty bare. There are tea-and-coffee making facilities with a proper coffee plunger - good tea, sour coffee.

The buffet breakfast is superb. Part of the breakfast area also works as a business meeting space. The bar and lobby are also well configured for meetings. There are two walls of delightfully well-stocked bookshelves in the public areas.

Village Market next door has an excellent coffee shop, Nakumatt supermarket, newsagent, ATMs and food court. On Fridays, Maasai Market sets up in the upstairs covered parking area. Convenient if you're here on business and have limited time to find essentials.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great hotel. Overall it is aesthetically pleasing and the staff could not be any more friendly. Its proximity to the Village Market makes it easy to grab food any time of day should you not choose to enjoy the wonderful food served in the hotel. The roof top bar is also a great place for a few drinks in the wonderful cool evening air. Only drawback is the distance from the airports, but the security, cleanliness and staff more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

If I was judging the hotel only from the design and the rooms I would have definitely given a 4 (global standards) if not a 5 (Nairobi standards). The problem is that design and looks should be matched with service quality and (for such a price) exceptional management and this is not the case.

But let me start with the positive things. The Tribe is a very beautiful hotel, it epitomizes the concept of a boutique hotel. Design is perfect, rooms and public spaces are so beautifully decorated that you want to stay indoors most of the time. Every single object in this hotel seems to have been handpicked by an interior designer that had a very nice concept in mind. Some people complain that the rooms are small but I think that for Nairobi standards the size is just fine.

And I am sorry to say but that's all with the Tribe. Beauty!

Let me points out the things that made me to give a 3 to the Tribe:

1. Food. Beside the breakfast that is OK I had dinner there and it was really bad food. I had a red snapper that was dry as a "snapper jerky" (if such thing exists you find it at the Tribe) and it was swimming in an indifferent spicy sauce that was mot matching a fish dish. We had also a “spaghetti amatriciana” that I thing has been placed by mistake in the main dishes while it should have been listed in the desserts. I mean the amount of sugar at this plate was so much that it made it inedible. I have to say though that the service by Xavier (if I recall the name correctly) was very good.

2. Tele-communications: Terrible. Internet in the room was practically not working. Such a low speed that in order to download a 1MB file it was taken about 10 minutes. Telephone lines: colleagues (from abroad and from Nairobi) were trying to call me and they never succeeded to reach an available line. I mean tele-communication did not exist at the Tribe. I do not know if this because of the infrastructure in Nairobi (I had no such bad internet in any other venue in Nairobi) but I think it is probably because the management doesn't care to have appropriate infrastructure. I do not want free internet when there is no internet actually! Give me good quality and I’ll pay for it.

3. Staff at the reception. Sorry to say but all receptionists have an attitude there. It reminded me receptionists in Paris hotels (you know, the ones that behave to you like doing you a favour that you choose their hotel). The smile is pretentious, it seems that they do not really care and I think that the best way to describe them it is that they are just indifferent.

4. Focus on money. Yes, this is the focus of any private business and there is nothing bad with this. But at the Tribe the “money-milking business” is at another dimension. They charge a lot for all the additional services and they try to milk any dollar from your pocket. Tours are very expensive (I think more than 30% the market price) while they do not offer any kind of additional service. I mean you will go on your one-day safari with an old minivan and you will be given 2 bottles of water and that’s all (the driver/guide though was an extremely kind and informed person). Another issue: we asked how much a late check-out will cost just because the last day we wanted to be able to go to our room at about 7pm and change clothes (I was in an all-day business meeting finishing at 6:30pm and my wife on a tour finishing at 6pm). They told us that it will cost a day rate and we opted not to have a late check-out. We settled the bill in the morning and my wife checked out at noon sharp. We were told that our luggage will be kept by the hotel. When at 7pm we asked our luggage we were informed that "for our convenience" the luggage was in the room since the room was not occupied. Since that was the case I asked them if we can go for 10 minutes in the room and just change clothes. The reply was "certainly sir" and the moment I was ready to say thanks, the receptionists continuous and says "in this case we have to charge one night rate". I mean, are you kidding? You left the luggage in my room for "my convenience"? What "convenience"? The convenience of having to wait in order that you find a staff that will go to the room, pick up the luggage and bring them in the reception? No, you left the luggage in the room because you were expecting that a tired couple that want to change clothes will pay you a night’s rate for 10 minutes in an non-occupied room.

This behaviour was really annoying. You know it was that last incidence that made me to give a 3 to the Tribe. It was an indication that will try to milk any money they can from you. And you know we spend on top more than 100% of top of the accommodation value in tours and extras there.

Anyway, that's a long report but I wanted to make very clear why I gave a 3 and why I think this 3 is perfectly fair.

Will I go back? I really do not know. If my next trip in Nairobi will be within the next 3-4 months then probably no. If will be later then I might go back provided that I'll get a better price than the one I had this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Trip_Datum,

Thank you for your review dated 19th December 2011.

At Tribe, we strive to maintain a benchmark of excellence in every aspect of our offerings and it is constructive criticism like yours that will help us achieve this.

All the points raised in your review are highly significant and I personally apologize for not being able to live up to your expectations.

First and foremost thank you very much for your compliments and I am pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of Tribe. Xavier and Benjamin are both indeed excellent staff members and I am sure they will be happy to hear your compliments.

In response to your concerns:

1.My apologies for your experience at Jiko. In our endeavor to fulfill your request for a special order we regret that the dishes did not meet your expectations. We were happy to provide the specific fish you requested but as it is not on our menu perhaps that particular fish did not match the preparation of the Red Snapper. In addition, for the Pasta, once we removed a key ingredient from the sauce as per your request we apologize that the sauce was no longer balanced.

2.I apologize for the difficulties experienced with our complimentary internet service; we were experiencing interrupted connectivity during the second week of December. However, I do assure you that the issue has now been rectified.

3.Your experience with our Reception staff is highly unacceptable. A standard practice at Tribe is for all our guests to be treated with respect and made to feel at home. Therefore, there is no reason for you to have been made to feel like that. I have raised this issue with our Front Office Manager
.
4.Excursion trips organized by the hotel are in line with prices offered by other five star hotels. All our tour guides are constantly updating themselves on information about our beautiful country and I am pleased that you appreciated our guide’s knowledge. As per industry standards for a 5 star hotel, late check-outs and early check-ins are usually charged at day rate. However, we recognize need for re-training and review of checkout/luggage storage policies as well as general service delivery at the front desk.

I would like to assure you that the entire team at Tribe care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to correct the image you have of Tribe.

Please contact me directly the next time you plan to visit Kenya.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

First, I will definitely stay here again, if we return to Kenya next year. The Tribe is wonderful. The people are very hospitable and caring. Below is my analysis of the various aspects of the Tribe. On a scale from 1 -- 5 with 5 being the best, I rate the Tribe a 4. The reason for the 4 rating will be seen in the analysis below.

Appearance: Excellent. Very modern. Very clean. Make sure to visit the pool area at night. The experience of walking along the water by stepping on stones as though you are crossing a stream is unique.

Food: The food at breakfast and lunch are the best offered at the hotel. Omelettes are wonderful and the fruit is fresh. At lunch or dinner, please try the tomoato soup. The soup has a slight sweetness to it that makes you want more.
Go ahead and drink the water. This place is very clean. The water was fine. I believe they have their own well. I am more paranoid than most, so I didn't drink the water unless it was served in a bottle, however, I finally relented and drank the cool refreshing water and had no problems.

Rooms: Our room was nice, but not very big. That was ok because we were outside working at volleyball camps during the day. The bed was firm and very comfortable. The pillows were large but at the same time, they maintained their thickness. The pillows were the best that I have ever experienced at any hotel.
If you are not looking for a suite, then I recommend room 219. This is the only room that has a balcony. Though the balcony looks out over the entrance, it is still refreshing to sit out on the balcony in the morning.

Safety: We felt safe the entire stay at the hotel. There are actually two security gates that traffic must go through in order to arrive at the hotel. The first is the security gate at the Village Market parking lot entrance. The second is at the entrance to the hotel. The hotel is located down the street from the U.S Embassy which is across the street from the U.N. offices in Kenya.

Staff: The staff is wonderful. George, the man who greets your car (depending upon the time of day) is amazing. He remembered my name and was always very gracious. You will recognize George because he wears at least a XXL or XXXL (trust me on this).

Drawbacks: The reason that I did not give this hotel a 5 rating is that every night, the power would go off. Sometimes for 10 seconds and sometimes for a few minutes. It is my understanding that this was because the hotel would switch from the electricty provided by the utilitiy company and use the power from their generators. This was a little disconcerting. Also, the air conditioning did not seem to get as low as the reading on the thermostat. The air conditioning would shut off and not come back on, which necessitated me getting up to turn it back on. Though this was a nuisance, I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As stated in my review, Room 219 is the only room with a balcony. It doesn't have a view but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Tribe Hotel is beautiful. As soon as I walked in, I felt the stress from traveling for 24 hours straight lift from my shoulders. It helped that my co-worker who got there ahead had a glass of cosmo waiting for me. The rooms are nice and the bathrooms are clean and modern. I highly recommend making some appointments at the spa there as well. Great location - right across the parking from the market so can use the food court there or get any essentials easily. Also, really short cab ride (less than 5 minutes, or less than 3 dollars) to the United Nations or the US embassy in Nairobi

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I found the Hotel very safe and I thing this is very important in Nairobi.
I read the reviews and I expected a really good Hotel, instead I found an average place with average service.
Wifi was for free in the hotel. Has ac, hot water clean towels etc.
The rooms were disappointing. In the mini bar was 1 small bottle of coca and on orange juice. The toilet has no door. A bit too modern for me. The bathroom has some missing items, like no toilet brush. Is raining every day in Nairobi but there is no kit for polishing Shoes. They do have a note saying that they can polish the shoes for you.
The room service are very noisy. I do not know how did they manage to slam the doors like this.
There were some nice people at reception and at the door. The staff of the restaurant was also nice. I would not complain for the service but the doors were very noisy and the room is not at high standard, rather average and with some weak points.
I have to say that I did feel very safe and It does matter. I would give 5 stars for this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
10.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#6 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.