We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous design, mediocre food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous design, mediocre food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to safari in the Masai Mara. We arrived quite late and the trip from the international airport took long - one hour due to bad traffic, for which of course the hotel cannot be blamed, but it is not practical if you have to leave again at 7 am the next day. The design of the hotel is gorgeous - we loved the funky shaped rooms and the beds are amazing. Staff were friendly en well trained. The (only) restaurant though was disappointing - a buffet style place with bland food, there was no option to eat a la carte, and the place lacked atmosphere.
There was a lot of music noise in our room coming from what we assume was the banqueting area, when we called reception to complain this was swiftly resolved though. I would certainly recommend the hotel for business travellers on a multiple day stay, but not for tourists on transit - the high price simply does not justify it, there is no opportunity to have a cosy couples dinner, and it is too far away from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Claudia093,

Thank you for your review dated September 6, 2011.

I appreciate your comments and feedback.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the design and rooms of our hotel. I am pleased to inform you that we are re launching our restaurant this coming October and I am positive that the brand new menu on offer will definitely impress you. We will be offering a full a la carte menu for lunch and dinner.

Please do let us know of any future travel plans to Nairobi, it will be our pleasure to organize a romantic private dinner for you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    130
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
84
44
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel is clean and pretty ... that's about it! We got stuck in the sub-basement (floor "0"). It felt like a dungeon. The bathrooms are a nightmare. They had good intentions with the big shower heads but forgot to angle the flooring so the whole bathroom flounded when showering. When we asked for additional towels to block off the water the maid argued with us.

The service is awful. We sat outside by the pool waiting for a waitor/waitress for at least 15 minutes before walking out. We sat for several minutes before anyone waited on us for breakfast as well ... and there was only 2 other people in the restaurant! We ordered a pizza for room service that cost $20 plus gratuity and it was oblong(maybe 10 inches by 3 inches), no sauce, hardly no cheese and covered with tin foil so what cheese there was had to be pulled off the foil. No napkins, no silverware. The internet didn't work right probably because we were in the cellar! The only GOOD thing about this place was the tour guide named Benjamin. He was informative, polite and made our stay bearable.

If this hotel is going to charge outrageous prices then they need to step up their customer service and hire people that do NOT argue with the customers. They have a monopoly right now as they are in a perfect location for shopping etc but there is a new hotel scheduled to be built nearby. Hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: They need to address the shower flooding issue. We were not the only ones with this problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

During my pre and post safari trip in East Africa, I stayed at the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, and my experience was exquisite. The tribe staff has exceptional customer service skills, and everyone greeted you with a warm smile. The bar, restaurant, business center and concierge services were stellar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We've stayed in the Tribe 17-20/82011.
A couple + 8 yo child, for business . A short trip to Nairobi. In our former visits to the city we use hotels in Karen area- the Giraffe Manor and House of Waine. Since this time we needed to be closer to the Westland area we chose the Tribe.
We the deluxe rooms were fully booked so we coukdn't reseve 2 connected rooms and we stayed in the Business Loft suite. It is a very nice suite with 2 lavels and we used the upper one as a sleeping space for our son.
The first night brought some technical issues such as TV problems, Coffee machine problem and long time of getting our room service order.
The TV could not be fixed till the morning but we were too tired anyway .
The breakfast was rich & testy. the dinning room staff is smiling all the time and ready to provide any request. The General Manager came to apologize about last nights problem and upon our request changed our room to 2 interconnecting rooms which were superb. Great rooms with a beautiful swimming pool view.
The General Manager helped us with some information we were looking for in connection with purpose of our visit to Nairobi. The concierge was so very helpfulordering car each day. She was very sufficent and friendly.
the gym was nice with cardio machine and basic strengh machine and dumbles.,
I would add a bence for chest press.
The hotel is one of the most testy decoreted I've ever seen. with lots of African art, amazing sculptures and fabulous fernitures.
The most important for me beside it's cleaniness and beauty is the hospitality and the friendly face you see everywhere all the time. The reception, the restaurant, the shop, the gym , the maids and the doorman- everyone smiles and ready to assist.
One comment regarding the taxi cabs- If you have to be somewhere take additional 15 minutes for the taxi to arrive, even if you ordered in advance. they are waiting in the parking in Village Market and they will only drive to the front door when the doorman inform them that you are present there.
very satisfied staing in the Tribe and we will defenately come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is the second time I have had the privilege of staying at the Tribe and besides the stylish interior decorating and the boutique hotel atmosphere I would like to add the high quality restaurant. The Tribe has introduced a new menu one week ago and we tried the Salmon teriyaki and Caprese salad yesterday. The salmon teriyaki prepared by the Kenyan chef Paul is simply the best I have ever tasted outside Japan. Chef Pau should have his own culinary show soon. A heartfelt thank you to all the wonderful people who make this hotel a welcoming home in Kenya. Keep up the good work!Our stay has been just perfect!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at the Tribe in July 2011 and I have to say the hotel is one of the most unique and outstanding hotels I´ve visited around the world.

Being very nicely designed and decorated the Tribe displays it´s vibrant character in lot through the hundreds of carefully selected art pieces placed around the hotel, adding mystique and local feel to the otherwise warm and cosy atmosphere.

From the moment I arrived I felt relaxed and welcome, thanks to the staff, who proved super friendly in every manner and provided quality of service that went above and beyond.

The food, wheather it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, was always first class and not to mention the spa, which is a world of its own.

I can highly recommend the Tribe hotel, and staying there is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is sublime. It has the sense of a boutique hotel, with nice ambient musique throughout the hotel, perfect finishing touches, beautiful decor, great beds and rooms, perfect service, very professional staff. And it starts from the beginning: airport pickup is is very fancy Chryslers (the ones that look like Bentleys). I hate buffets, but oh-my-god, is the food good! The buffet is even better than that one in the Continental. Their desserts are gems.

The location is the only bad thing; its far from the center/Westlands, as it caters for the upscale crowd of all embassies and UN that comes in for business in the area (which is close).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.