We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy hotel run by classy and highly efficient wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A classy hotel run by classy and highly efficient wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is the second time I have had the privilege of staying at the Tribe and besides the stylish interior decorating and the boutique hotel atmosphere I would like to add the high quality restaurant. The Tribe has introduced a new menu one week ago and we tried the Salmon teriyaki and Caprese salad yesterday. The salmon teriyaki prepared by the Kenyan chef Paul is simply the best I have ever tasted outside Japan. Chef Pau should have his own culinary show soon. A heartfelt thank you to all the wonderful people who make this hotel a welcoming home in Kenya. Keep up the good work!Our stay has been just perfect!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    123
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
79
40
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at the Tribe in July 2011 and I have to say the hotel is one of the most unique and outstanding hotels I´ve visited around the world.

Being very nicely designed and decorated the Tribe displays it´s vibrant character in lot through the hundreds of carefully selected art pieces placed around the hotel, adding mystique and local feel to the otherwise warm and cosy atmosphere.

From the moment I arrived I felt relaxed and welcome, thanks to the staff, who proved super friendly in every manner and provided quality of service that went above and beyond.

The food, wheather it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, was always first class and not to mention the spa, which is a world of its own.

I can highly recommend the Tribe hotel, and staying there is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is sublime. It has the sense of a boutique hotel, with nice ambient musique throughout the hotel, perfect finishing touches, beautiful decor, great beds and rooms, perfect service, very professional staff. And it starts from the beginning: airport pickup is is very fancy Chryslers (the ones that look like Bentleys). I hate buffets, but oh-my-god, is the food good! The buffet is even better than that one in the Continental. Their desserts are gems.

The location is the only bad thing; its far from the center/Westlands, as it caters for the upscale crowd of all embassies and UN that comes in for business in the area (which is close).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Everyone wants to experience something exotic in life. Tribe Hotel can offer that rare experience-- without sacrificing luxury.

Wake up to a vigorous workout at Tribe's petite but comprehensive gym with top-of-the-line equipment and even a boxing area, followed by a full buffet breakfast and a refreshing glass of tree tomato juice (which is unique to Kenya). If you are looking for more indulging activities, try the exquisite Kenya Gold treatment, which includes a coffee body scrub and a massage.

The pool area is also great to lounge around during the day, with bar stools built-in the pool. Don't forget to stop by Nest (the outdoor bar) for a cocktail and shisha in the evening as well. It is also next to the Village mall for convenient shopping. The Masai market is open every Friday.

I never expected to see anything like this in Nairobi. The best part was the hotel was decorated with numerous art pieces sourced from all over Africa, giving the overall lodging experience a wonderful tribal flair, just like its namesake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have stayed twice at the TRIBE in Nairobi. For both, business and pleasure it is, especially compared to the more traditional hotels, by far (!!!) the most recommendable palce to stay at in Nairobi!

Both, the food and the rooms are of five star plus quality and are being topped off with an impeccable service.

The TRIBE can compete with international hotels at the hightes level at any time!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Tribe Hotel provides the Best of Kenya and rest of the World. Top quality in accommodation, food, spa and guest services.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I went to tribe on our way to discover the beautiful land of Kenya. Needless to say I was more than apprehensive of the local accommodations but I had heard that Tribe was the place to go. What a shock ! This hotel puts the Parisian boutique hotels to shame ! From the impeccable service to the amazing quality of the room everything there is just top of it's class. Special thanks to Elvis (his real name !) the trainer at the gym who took the time to show me how some of the machines worked.
In short, our only regret was not to have stayed longer !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.