We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary, Flithy, Unsuitable Even For A Wildebeast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari

Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari to your Saves list
Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari
Koinange street | Uniafric house, 3rd floor, room 350,, Nairobi 100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Scary, Flithy, Unsuitable Even For A Wildebeast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

the flamingo camp located close to the entrance of the masai mara reserve is the scariest place i've ever seen. our tent looked like a crime scene with stains and filth all over. the bathroom was dirty and had a large hole in wall where anything could crawl in at will. it was damp and depressing. if your safari company proposes this as part of "luxury" tenting experience, as it was promoted to us, please run! don't believe them. the ol moran tented camp or hippo tented camp next door are much, much, much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I would agree completely with tvplano's review. It was as if I was writing the review myself.

This camp was part of the Explorer Kenya camping tour. We paid 875$ pp for a 6 day camping safari including Masai Mara, Amboselli and Lake Nakuru. We also had trouble with the bathroom with a door which didnot have a latch...We had to creatively use a rubber band to tie the door and keep it closed. The flush would not work and hot water was very difficult to come by. Fortunately we were here for just 2 days. We had trouble sleeping there the first night, cause there was another family(of about 20 people) in the lodge who were very noisy and not considerate at all.

There was also a masai guarding the camp at night. At night when we were returning back to our tent, he approached us and took something out from under his blanket. We were scared cause we didnt understand what he was trying to communicate and he had a spear in his hand. Our guide who was also living in this camp saw this and came to help us. The masai was just trying to sell us stuff but it was a little scary.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was also provided by the campsite because of their deal with Explorer Kenya tours. The food was good and good quantity. We even had lamb the first night for dinner. The staff was also pretty good and helpful.

I guess you get what you pay for. I am not sure how the other camps in Masai Mara fare in comparison. This camp had atleast the basics; i.e. it had a private tent, private bathroom and toilet, a bed., common kitchen and common eating area. I guess if you go out camping, this is what you experience. That being said our camp at Amboselli far exceeded our expectations and was a luxury suite compared to this.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Do not be cheated this is the worst "lodge" ever in the history of all lodges it is bacically a few tents enclosed in second hand barbed wire it looks like a place you would stop for a pee then get on with your journey! you supply your own food but will cook it for you fortunately!if your looking for an affordable lodge this isnt it (no pool,spa,lockable doors,electricity,comfort and flushable toilets) from the whole family and friends it SUCKS!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at the Flamingo Tented Camp two weeks ago. As there is more than one accommodation that uses the name Flamingo, this review describes the camp located near the Oloolamutia township/Oloolamutia entrance to the Masai Mara park. I would have liked to know more about this camp before we got there, but there were no reviews at the time. I hope this review will be useful to other travelers.

The camp consists of semi-permanent canvas tents that are located within asbestos roof structures that keep out the rain. It rained heavily one night during our stay but our tent stayed dry.

The camp offers both shared bath and private bath facilities. Our tent had a private bath enclosed within. There was a wooden door to the bath from the sleeping area that remained ajar and lacked a bolt or door handle. There were no hooks to hang a towel inside the bathroom. The toilet was missing a seat. There was a small window with a ledge on which we placed our soap and shampoo. The floor sloped away from the shower area and the bath water appeared to get absorbed by the soil and rocks. We had carried flip-flops that were useful in the shower.

The toilet did have a working flush. There was a sink next to the bed with a cold water faucet and running water. There was a shower head in the bathroom with cold and hot water controls. The supply of hot water began in the evenings around 6 p.m, and again in the mornings around 6 a.m. Electricity was somewhat erratic as their generator was undergoing repairs. Sometimes it came on at 6 a.m, sometimes later. In the evenings it usually came on around 6 p.m. and went out by 9 p.m. If the generator worked, then we could re-charge batteries in the tent. When the hot water did begin to run, we got plenty of hot water for a good shower.

The tents are located close to each other. Even the smallest of sounds carries, including coughs and sneezes from the neighboring tent in the night.

Cots made of wooden planks, mosquito nets, cotton mattresses, basic bed linens, pillows and towels were provided. They were all clean. The tents had window flaps that could be closed with zippers and velcro to keep out the cold and light. There were occasional visitors - a large spider on the ceiling, and a 5 inch long slug which was quite pretty, but they kept their distance from us - and they left by dawn without bothering us.

The furniture consisted of two beds, and they filled up the tent. There was just enough room on the floor beside our beds to open our two 22 inch suitcases.

Our tent had a passion fruit vine growing outside that was very pretty. The fruit is popular with the monkeys. The tents had double zippers on the front that were effective in keeping out the monkeys.

The people managing the camp were very helpful and cheerful. The manager of the camp lives on-site and is available at all times. Laundry services were available for a fee, and the laundered clothes were delivered by the end of the day. The meals were simple but freshly cooked and served hot in the dining room. With a day's advance notice, the kitchen staff supplied us with box lunches (sandwiches) the next day for our game drive to the Mara river.

We heard the lions roaring early in the morning (their sound carries about 3 miles) and hyenas howling in the evening - this was the best part of the "camp experience".

It is not possible to view sunset or sunrise from this camp because of its location. The camp offers (for a fee) nature walks with a Masai resident (we did not have time to use the service).

  • Liked — The people managing the camp.
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari

Address: Koinange street | Uniafric house, 3rd floor, room 350,, Nairobi 100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Camp And Cottages Safari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Camp and Cottages Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.