We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where has steers gone?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Steers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Steers
Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Fast Food, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“where has steers gone?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Once a very famous fast food chain now not many people know of it, closed down alot of branches and too expensive :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Diminishing standards-Steers wabera street”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I remember a time back when Steers was the place to be. It was the in place while we were kids. Sadly not any more..... With the arrival of the modern cafe/diners (see Nairobi Java House, Dormans and other cafes;all mimicking NJH's fashionable décor, I must add) Steers has fallen out of favour of many of us.

To begin with, Steers décor needs an uplift....move with the times people!!!! Their décor is cheap and outdated...Great ambiance makes us customers willing to pay more for food.....without a grumble, the more posh a place looks the more we believe and sometimes accept the food will cost. Secondly, though their food looks great on the menu, it doesn't taste as good on the palate. I had a grilled chicken and medium chips.....the chicken was tough and not fresh, it was as if it was yesterday's chicken rewarmed for me to eat!!! The chips were dry and unpalatable. Totally uncool.... My friend had passion juice which tasted like crap...... we complained to the staff who were willing to explain to us what we think was unexplainable....their standards have gone down....What's happening Steers?????

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a no no”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

if u r looking to satisfy your inner JUNKy i would strongly advise you go for something else other than the steers, muindi mbingu street, nairobi to be exact. again i am kenyan and therefore there would be no room for hating on my own but this place has absolutely crappy food. and for the price also, i think galitos etc are a far better choice. i had lunch yesterday so it is still very fresh. no no no

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Steers Wabera Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I totally enjoyed their beef burgers and french fries, however there was a power black out and the order was quite delayed. I guess they should invest in a generator. They also open at 9.00am so if one is interested in an early breakfast then Steers is not the option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great burgers & fries - Just like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Steers is a chain of fast food burger restaurants in several African countries, We ate at 2 or 3 in Nairobi. Service is good as is the food. Since there are no McDonalds, Whataburger, or other American chains there, Steers is the obvious choice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steers also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Steers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.