We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican Food / TexMex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Bar & Restaurante

Havana Bar & Restaurante
Woodvale Grove, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 4450653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food / TexMex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Havanna is a bar / restaurant with a lively atmosphere in the front bar, and a cozy, perhaps romantic even, restaurant area in the back. The bar often has loud music, or live bands, but the restaurant area is well protected from it. They have a range of food, but I love the Fajita´s that come on a sizzling platter: Highly recommended, and the advantage, you can stay till very late!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    35
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Known for bar scenes, but come here for the food too!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is popular place among the expats on Thursdays and weekends, walking distance from Gipsies, where crowd can spill over till the other side of the street as mentioned by some staff.

But, I have been here several times for lunch. They have good selections on the menu and would recommend their quiche with mushroom ( we had second order for this) and chicken quesadilla for starter and their curry chicken on their main dish. I am always craving for seafood so I always order any fish on the menu which is also tasty.

Staff are attentive and friendly. And the kitchen staff prepare your order quickly at-least during lunch time (between 1-3pm there are few customers). If you're planning of paying using credit card, ask if their credit card machine is working before placing your order (this applies anywhere I supposed) The last time we came, I have to withdraw and come back again to settle my bill as their machine had some issues. Though, I wish they could have mentioned it earlier.

Cozy set up where tables are set up way back from the main road that makes it conducive for conversation. Every time I visit here for lunch, I've seen couples who are obviously on an early date. Certainly a great intimate place to start within the CBD (Westlands) where everything is centralized.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HabanaGroupGM, Manager at Havana Bar & Restaurante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for the encouraging review. We apologise for the snag with the credit card terminal, we have a new wireless device and this works a lot better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome place, ambience, food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Havana is tucked inconspicuously on a Westlands side street, which only adds to the awesomeness of its low-key character and chill vibes. Dinner was excellent, great value at under 1000 shillings a plate for generous portions of properly prepared meat and tex-mex. Funky artwork adds to the character, especially upstairs in the smokers' lounge. Service was a little slow, but not horrible, and our waitress was good with recommendations. All in all, a very welcome addition to Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Havana nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food and great prices. Always a busy / fun / party atmosphere. With a lovely hidden den of a restaurant at the back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expensive reasonably priced whisky served badly!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tried Havana Bar with my good friend for decent whiskies. We were given a reasonable price until the bill came. The manageres had an attitude and the initial lady then changed her story, but still gave an other price than the bill. I don't mind paying for good whiskey, but employees should know their facts and management should remember that good and fair customer service keep existing-and bring new patrons.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Bar & Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Havana Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Bar & Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.