We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Bar & Restaurante

Havana Bar & Restaurante
Woodvale Grove, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 4450653
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #86 of 300 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lively bar and restaurant featuring good selection of bar snacks, grills and seafood. Open 7 days a week from noon til late. Free wifi.
HCMC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are in NBO and want some good mexican food, come here. Service is decent, and the food is good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    16
    25
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok to enjoy a drink or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Not very big, can get overcrowded and very noisy at times, however still u can manage to enjoy a beer or two and watch some soccer live

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice drinks, decent food, pity about the thieving waiters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Havana is one of those places you inevitably end up on at least once every couple of weeks in Nairobi.
Sometimes known as UN-central, it lives up to most expat expectations for what they need on a thursday night out.
I wouldn't even bother writing a review if it weren't for one constant at Havana: the waiters will inevitably try to rip you off when the time comes to pay the bill.
I know, this is Nairobi, always check the bill and make sure you get the right change.
But something about Havana really really takes the biscuit.
I recently ordered two drinks at the bar (assuming that by ordering at the bar the chances of being ripped off were slimmer). The total came to 520ksh and unfortunately I only had a 1000ksh note and could not find 20bob to make the change more straightforward.
Anyway, I hand over my note with apologies and the waiter says no problem. Three minutes later he comes back with 340ksh change. Now, maths was never my strong point but even I know that 1000-520 does not equal 340!!!!!
It took a further ten minutes to sort everything out during which time I had to call the manager and spend a long time explaining that the error was in no way mine.
Had this been a one off I would have put this down to being a mistake but I'm not joking when I tell you that something like this happens every single time.
SORT YOUR STAFF OUT HAVANA!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A bar with food, not a restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was recommended by a friend who had eaten a good pizza after a lot of beer -- and that may be the key to happiness here. We went sober, ordered from the more sophisticated side of the menu and were severely disappointed. Worst of all was the negligent service -- we practically had to tackle the waitresses to get service. And "tackle" is an appropriate word because they were all too busy watching football in the bar to wait on us properly. Aside from my friend and me, the only other customers eating dinner were European men over 60 with thin, extremely attractive African women in their early 20s. That may be another clue as to whether this is really intended to be a restaurant . . . .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Gets over crowded, very unsafe when going there or walking out coz to many big dangerous street boys who pretend they want some money but look for an opportunity to steal your handbag,jewellery. Be very careful,ask a guard to escort you to your car or taxi and be sure to tip him for next time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Bar & Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Havana Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Bar & Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.