We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get worse if they tried.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
Update restaurant details
Ranked #33 of 300 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't get worse if they tried.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You couldn't get worse service in Nairobi if you tried. Uninspired cuisine delivered by the ever sneering waitstaff. Confusingly, their Junction mall branch is the polar opposite. Save your money. Go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    79
    143
    30
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Racist Establishment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Art Caffe is a racist establishment. Black people are treated differently and they are lucky if they even get service. White people are shown to a table as soon as they arrive while black people are left to "fend for themselves." Boycott Art Caffe. Racism has no place in the 21st century.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Every single one of them is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

You can't go wrong going to any of their restaurants for lunch, dinner, just a drink or desert with friends or a date. Was at Westgate mall for dinner with 3 friends and at the Garden Mall on a late afternoon. I love the atmosphere. If I get back to Nairobi. That's the place to go back to.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Racist maître d’hôtel at Westgate branch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The non-African maitre d seemed more interested in flirting with isolated female patrons of the cafe, rather than working along his job description. I sat there with intention to do my work, and could hear him blatantly voicing his dislike of my kind of folk there (I’m a bearded Sikh). I immediately packed up and left, on the way out I told one of the friendly waiters that I could hear everything he said.

But the waiters and waitresses of African descent are awesome as all Kenyans can be; the giant of a doorman has a beautiful smile!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was in artcaffe at the junction some time back. Took waiters twenty minutes to serve us and i noticed some caucasians who came in after us were served promptly. I never took it to heart until this morning when i heard a customer was harrased for trying to buy 8 croissants. Reason given by mgt: his order was large so they told him that had to be pre-ordered. and they actually told him that they wont sell to him coz he is black. Really now !!! 8 croissants have to be pre-ordered ?! And what do croissants have to do with a customer being black? And on complaining, they call the cops on him!!! That was in really bad taste. Horrible horrible horrible !!! Would not recommend anyone if they continue with this racism!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.