We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, serice, service, speed up the service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service, serice, service, speed up the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I use the Artcaffes regularly, the food is generally a good 4 star, the milk shakes are great and I love the Mango yogart.
The Breakfasts are good but I don't understand why I have to have a green salad and can't change it for a fruit salad, I don't want green first thing in the morning.
Coffee is good.
But the Service...
Oh Lord give me patience. Nay Lord go one better - help them speed it up, it's not just a one off it is every visit and is the same in all their outlets. The problem is institutional and I have stopped going for a quick coffee 'coz the beast just doesn't exist.
If time is not an issue then you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    82
    145
    33
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Far-Away Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveling half-way around the world to meet our daughter in Nairobi we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the reasonable prices at Artcaffe. The service is excellent and the place is up to standard with nice places around LA, California where we come from. The atmosphere is nice and you can sit inside or out on the patio. The freshly baked and sliced bread to go is a real plus, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Good for meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The cheesecake was a bit heavy, but the coffee was good. As for ambiance, well, its in a shopping mall, but that seems to be the form these days - and at least there is an outside balcony, even if it overlooks ... the car park! Its a little pricey, I think, but given how busy it is, that doesn't seem to bother most people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unique Experience of Coffee, Food, and Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice ambiance with Good service, Excellent Food and Very Unique Coffee! Nice place to be with Family, Friends and Business associates. Real Old World Charm!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

So, the selection is confusing to be very honest. I went there to have a quick coffee as i waited to meet a friend. First, i have never used the 'free wifi' they say they have! What the hell! It was down the entire time and every other time ive been there before. Then i ordered what i thought would be an easy order, coffee and a pastry. Well i waited an hour! My friend came and we sat waiting! So after asking for the waiter 5 times, they just ignored me until finally i go my order. The food was nothing special. And after i was done, the bill took just as long! Tisk tisk!
I wasnt impressed

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.