We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious cappuccino.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
717193895
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious cappuccino.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arcaffe is a solid local chain. The food is a little hit or miss, but you can't go wrong with the pizza. The coffee drinks, in my opinion, are the best of the local chains. Good atmosphere with high quality finishes and good internet too boot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    168
    42
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo,Egypt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

you could have best coffee in Nairobi at that amazing place with a great view at the main street with a good stuff sevice

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good (almost exclusively expatriate) hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I visited the Artcaffe locations at the Westgate Mall as well as the Village Market Mall recently. I give them an overall very good rating mostly because they are somewhat of an oasis in a town where there are not too many comfort zones outside the luxury hotels. They are great for a cup of coffee with the morning papers (the coffee was fine). The pastries are not bad at all (the cinnamon role didn't give me heartburn...) and the food offerings are more than acceptable. I didn't run into any problems concerning hygiene or spoiled food. All in all I find the atmosphere welcoming and the service level reasonable for an often crowded venue. I guess that if you are really in a hurry, the service might at times seem slow or distracted, although I didn't get that feeling. My experience is that this is probably par for the course in many Nairobi cafes.
To sum it up, don't go there for a gourmet experience. I doubt that even they make that claim. But it is an inviting, safe and positive place to while away some time, to work on your computer (free wifi!) and to people watch.
As at many similar places in upscale settings in Nairobi, the preponderance of customers are expatriates and foreigners of one ilk or another - all being served by locals. Those are still the unfortunate facts of life. Since I don't think that I can change that singlehandedly, I will be going back to the Artcaffes whenever I visit Nairobi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food at artcaffe isn't terrible, but neither is it anything special. The service can be either really good or really poor. I think it just depends on your luck.

They do have free wifi though and it's a nice place to work if you're looking for a cafe setting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food and ambience was excellent. I actually set up my laptop and worked all day while listening to a jazz band that played later in the day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.