We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Coffee & Tea, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you want a relaxing atmosphere and a inexpensive place for lunch or brunch this is a great place to go. It is one of my favorite places to just grab a bit or coffee. A place where locals go for business and things.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    164
    39
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

artcaffe has a variety of food... i still havent tried everything on their menu for vegetarians... yummy delicious deserts and great value for money. their white sangria is absolutely yummy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Snooty Service, Food made me ill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A few months ago I went to Artcaffe at Galleria Mall. I bought a ham and cheese sandwich, and was ill for three days afterwards. I went back to tell them about it and the manageress (at least she said she was the acting manageress) just told me "Sorry about that".
No questions, she couldn't care less.

Then today I finally went back there, looking for some coffee and a do nut or something. I was pleasantly surprised to see a special of Coffee and Croissant, so I asked for that, only to be told "Sorry - you're 15 minutes late".
Then I was told its "policy".

Really? 15 minutes late? You weren't busy at all, and if you had bent the rules a little bit I would probably stop past there every day for my coffee and croissant. So you lose. Sorry for you.

Terrible, snooty service (and obvious hygiene problems, without a care to fix them - I wont be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food but service is so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I always like the food that is creatively presented and is always fresh. Sometimes the wait staff are a bit blase about their work. My kids love it and its a nice place to chill on Sudany morning at Junction Mall. Smoked salmon bagel is my favorite as its not easy to find in Nairobi. If this place was anywhere in the western world it would be very ordinary but for Nairobi its great. Working in Juba makes me appreciate this type of cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The management are effective such that the serving whatever is good. The dishes are well designed and very tasty. The staff are hand picked by the manager and do an excellent service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.