We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Go-To Lunch Spot in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
717193895
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Kigali Rwanda
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Go-To Lunch Spot in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Although a bit pricey -- lunch for 2 is easily $35 -- the quality of the food, of the staff, and the atmosphere can't be beat. I'm a particular fan of their perfectly prepared ground lamb kebabs with tabouleh; it's perfection as are their iced lattes made with Dormans coffee. They do get busy though and inside at Westgate, the noise levels may discourage those looking for quiet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    165
    40
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxed ambience, good food, prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Amongst few places in Nairobi that I highly recommend. Love the food and the ambience. Though service level faces a challenge during peak hours, one can live with that compromise. All in all a great venue to meet and enjoy your meals.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“...same ol' story....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had great food and enjoyed the outside seating....but service needs help!!! We dinned here (5 pax) once in December 2012 and January 2013, and the verdict was unanimous; among the best in town today but can do much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food but horrendous service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Food is good but service is the worst in the city. We inevitably leave upset, so we stopped going. We rather grab a loaf or two at the counter and take it home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Artcaffe Junction has the most rude, arrogant wait staff I have ever encountered. I had to wait for approximately 10 minutes before I finally gave up and called a waiter to order a drink. As I was waiting some caucasians came in sat right next to my table and were served immediately. Unbelievable! After getting my drink I was totally ignored until my friend a male came and joined me and again the girl jumped up to serve him. The waiters all seem to hurdle in particular corner talking about who cares and cannot be bothered to actually do their job and find out how the customers are doing. Getting the bill therefore becomes a problem before you actually catch the eye of a waiter as s/he is very busy with colleagues NOT DOING THEIR JOB. I don't know what is going on at the restaurant but they need to style up. As am sure you have predicted I suggest you avoid this particular "joint" if its service your waiting for except perhaps if your male and caucasian. Horrible place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.