We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After living for several years in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, and a week at a conference/retreat centre north of Nairobi, coming to Artcaffe at the Village Market for dinner was a refreshing experience! Wonderful ambiance, decor, and service. Nice variety of offerings on the menu. The food was good, but not quite what we expected. My wife found her chicken dish rather dry, and my Chicken Caesar salad featured limp rather than crisp salad and a dressing that was decidedly not like any Caesar dressing I've ever had. But all in all, a good meal and a pleasant evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    82
    147
    33
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great people watching and wonderful ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

So stumbled upon Cafe Brasserie by Art Caffe while roaming around the Village Market. It's light and airy and has a great balcony overlooking the shoppers coming and going. They offer light breakfasts, take aways, great sandwiches and salads and casual dinners with wine and beer choices. The desserts looked wonderful but had no room for them after dinner. Good choice if you are staying at the Tribe Hotel and want something different or if shopping in the area and decide you need a coffee fix! The Village Market is extremely safe as you will see lots of armed security everywhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fine if you don't mind hanging out with mzungus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was really unsure about this place when I first arrived in Nairobi, and whilst I'm still wary of how many mzungus are there, I do enjoy it as a place to get lost in the crowd and read my book for an hour or 2.

Food is good, though it caters to a Western palette, and the pastries are a guaranteed winner. For main meals we usually opt somewhere else in Nairobi - there are so many great places that this quickly seems dull to us. But for a Sunday morning pastry and a coffee, or as a refuge to sip a fruit juice and read, Artcaffe hits the spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great days' start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place has great light breakfasts and lunches. Its unusual food and great coffees, all at a very fair price. I'm here often.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced, ordinary menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm probably the only Mzungu in Kenya that doesn't like Artcaffe. Full of pretentious people playing with their laptops and smartphones, I find very little to recommend it. Because it's THE place to be seen it can be difficult to find a table. The menu is uninspiring, and generally poor value. For example, a chicken schnitzel is a couple of bits of breaded chicken, and a few chips. That's it. For a 25% premium over a decent meal at Havana or Mercury. Breakfast, in particular, is terrible ... no option of a "full English", bits 'n' pieces on an airline-style tray with little holes in it, maybe a sausage and some kind of Mediterranean salad. Quite dreadful, even Java does a passable breakfast. Staff try to be attentive, but often mix up orders or you don't get exactly what you ordered. Can't recommend it at all. All the above is true of the newer outlets at the Junction and Galleria too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.