We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani
Save
You added Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani to your Saves list
Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thank you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just left Kenya a week ago after an incredible family holiday. We were based out of Sandavy Guesthouse which offers clean, basic accommodation and lovely staff. David was exceptional at helping to arrange our very specific trip and we are very grateful for his expertise and understanding. All 3 drivers we were with, James, Issac and Charles were excellent. We spent the most time with James on safari and around Kenya. We received expert help in the game parks and safe, knowledgable driving on the crazy roads of Kenya. Thank you to the entire Sandavy team!

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have a private bathroom. Get ready for hard beds throughout Kenya and always chall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you too for your wonderful and positive feedback.

We have opened a new branch of Sandavy on Mugumo Road in Lavington. All room are en suite except 2 which have private baths next to their entrance doors.

Regards,
David (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
16
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We only stayed two nights at this quaint Guest house but had a great experience
in a very short time.
Everyone made us feel very welcome! Moses the chef prepared a tasty
vegetarian dinner for us one night & we had nice breakfasts with good
fruit and coffee. The location was quiet and peaceful with lovely gardens
and the rooms were clean and adequately furnished.
We really loved the safari arranged for us- we saw so much-even saw lions
which I understand is rare and the weather was so perfect. James our
driver was very accomodating & easy to talk to, and Issac, our driver
for our second day was so much fun to be with & gave us lots of information,
very knowledgeable. We felt very safe and cared for with both drivers and
really appreciated that!
The owner David had recommended the Carnivore Restaurant for our
last night, even though we don't eat meat we had a great Vegetarian
dinner and loved the experience of going to this famous restaurant, it was
very entertaining.
Would highly recommend this B&B to our friends and family and hope to
go back another time!

Room Tip: we stayed in the greater Flamingo room, which had a private bath. Not many of the other rooms did o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sandavy Guest house is a perfect place to stay while in Nairobi given that you don't need to stay in the middle of the city. I've stayed here many times since 2007, both with my family and with different groups of students, and I have never been disappointed. David and his staff are always treating you with utmost care and with great hospitality and it's like coming home when you arrive. The rooms are nice and clean and have everything you need and an extra bed can always be arranged if needed. The common living room is spacious and have both free wifi and television and the garden is a real treat to sit and relax in. Fresh seasonal fruit is always included in the breakfast which varies from pancakes, french toast, ham & eggs, scrambled eggs to cereal and toast. Other meals may be arranged upon request and Moses vegetable lasagne is a real treat! There is always someone around to help or answer questions if needed or recommend activities. Sandavy arranges pick-up and transportation from the airport which is an advantage since the traffic in Nairobi can be hectic. The guest house is situated off Ngong Road in a secluded and relaxing neighbourhood and once there the bus stop is within walking distance. However, if you don't have your own vehicle I would recommend a cab if you're travelling longer distances. They have also arranged Safaris for us over the years, all to a reasonable price, and while away we've left our excess luggage in their safe storage room, there is always a guard watching over the premises. I will definitely stay at Sandavys next time I'm in Nairobi and I can highly recommend the guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sandavy guesthouse is a fantastic place to stay if you're on a budget and want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Situated in a peaceful garden, this guesthouse offers very homely accommodation and very friendly service. We stayed in the Greater Flamingo room which is an en suite double room: spacious, light and clean. Breakfast (included) was vey good - the French toast is recommended! We will stay here again if we're back in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Greater Flamingo is a large double room with en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed here many times in the past few years and have always had a great experience. They are always very responsive and helpful when booking. They know a lot about the area and offer many reasonably priced trips around Nairobi (our favorite was a visit to the Kitengela Glass Company!). We were also able to store luggage for no additional cost. The staff will prepare a meal for you or recommend a great restaurant (like Habesha..) and set up transportation. I would stay here again but it seems they have become quite popular so book early or you might not have the chance!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Sandavy for a night and it has been a pleasant experience.

Very prompt reply of e-mails so booking has been fast and easy. Also, everything can be confirmed via e-mail with no deposits needed to secure the booking. This is a huge plus for me as I am only staying for one night, and if wiring of money is needed the transaction fee would nearly doubled the rental.

The staff are friendly and welcoming. When we arrived we were shown to our room directly, and were allowed to settle down and take a rest before we do the normal check-in procedures. A very nice touch since we were both exhausted after a 3+ hours drive from the Lake Nakuru N.P. They could also do online check-in and print the boarding pass for you if needed.

As we only arrived in the evening so we have requested to have dinner at Sandavy. It was delicious and in a very decent portion. The vegetarian dishes are good as well. The breakfast is simple but also good with cereals, toasts, eggs and some fruits being offered.

We stayed in the Greater Flamingo room which is big, clean and with en-suite bathroom. Of course explain nothing luxurious but it is definitely value for money. The common room is also a nice area to chill out and to utilize the free wi-fi provided.

The location of the guest house is not the most convenient one as it is located outside the busy city, but that is why it is very private, quiet and relaxing. Just one thing to note is that our driver has difficulties in finding the place, and it is not difficult to see why as it is located at the very end of a small lane. Sandavy does offer transport service so I would recommend arranging the transport with them directly, or if you really need to use your own transport, do urge the driver to ask/call the guest house directly to ask for directions to save your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We only spent an afternoon here, because we had an early morning flight. The staff was really friendly, Moses is an amazing cook, he even prepared a breakfast for us in the middle of the night! The room (Lesser Flamingo) was clean, bright and homy with a huge, cosy bed. The place has a nice garden and is not far away from the airport. They even arrange airport transfer, safaris, etc. - we recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

Address: Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Nairobi suburbs of Kilimani and the upmarket Lavington area with easy access to the city centre, Sandavy Guest Houses Bed and Breakfast are close to restaurants and shopping centres. For hospitality at its best, make Sandavy Guest Houses your Nairobi destination. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and students... we offer a comfortable, secure and affordable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandavy Guest House Hotel Nairobi
Sandavy Guest House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.