We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani
Save Saved
You added Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani to your Saves list
Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Ramona, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

David,
Thanks to all of your staff who gave new meaning to customer service! Anytime I needed something or turned around, there was Liz. Moses's makes a great Lasagna:) Rooms were clean and very affordable. Sharon San Diego, USA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
16
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Being my first trip to Africa I didn't know what to expect... David and staff took care of my every need, gave good counsel and provided a level of service I only wish I could find in the States. My goals for this trip were different than the typical tourist but David didn't shy away from helping me achieve my purpose. The staff was very friendly and amazingly helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone. It was a great week!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I first stayed here when I was in Nairobi during an extended time (10 months or so) in Kenya and Tanzania, and returned here by strong preference on a shorter visit to Kenya in August 2011. Sandy (a Canadian) and David (a Kenyan) run a quiet garden-setting bed and breakfast that feels like being at home. They are very friendly people, as are all members of their staff. There are a few minor inconveniences -- as, for example the fact that several of their rooms have the bathroom in a separate room next door to the room itself, though several are set aside as private to the room. The rooms are very nicely appointed, and the breakfast provided is more than ample, A refrigerator in the dining room has drinks for a price (on an honor system with sign-up sheets, A little shopping center, Adams Arcade on Ngong Road is easy walking distance. It boasts a Java Coffee shop that serves meals, and a new Indian restaurant that offers delicious Punjabi style food for very reasonable prices, David also runs a travel agency from an in-house office, and has done a great job of arranging flights for me to Lamu and Kigali. In a city very full of the noise of traffic virtually all of the time, this is a quiet little oasis worth seeking out. They are on Ndemi Close, just off of Ndemi Road. Reserve well ahead of time, since they have an excellent reputation and are sometimes booked up far in advance, Their website is: http://www.nairobiguesthouse.com/

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at the Sandavy guest house for six nights while on a business trip to Nairobi in May 2012. It is comfortable, friendly, safe, clean, and well run. Virginia (on reception desk) was always cheerful and helpful, and Moses (in the kitchen) produced excellent meals on request.

It is situated a few kilometers outside of the city centre, which gives it a calmer, and quieter feel, but it is only a short distance from two modern shopping malls (Junction mall and Yaya mall). I found the cafes at these malls to be good locations for meetings.

Overall I felt very well looked after by David and his staff, and I would stay again. The only improvement I would suggest would be investment in solar heated water, as the current electric showers permitted too small a flow of water through them for my liking.

Room Tip: If you want a large room with ensuite bathroom, then the Flamingo is the one to ask for.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sandavy Guest House is really excellent. The rooms are immaculate and the staff so helpful and friendly. We stayed three nights. The breakfasts were good, the laundry service fast and efficient, the sitting room really comfortable with free use of a computer and the internet.
We also liked the "honesty" bar/fridge stocked with sodas and beer.
There is a shopping mall nearby.
Sandavy is a home from home not just a B&B

We had a good day touring Nairobi organised for us by Sandavy and also three days safari to Amboseli and Tsavo. Our driver James was excellent. The land rover had comfortable seats and an open viewing roof which was just about big enough for the two of us to view simultaneously.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We feel fortunate to have found a safe, quiet resting place, both for following lengthy travels to Kenya and preceeding the long trip home. It is easy to book accommodation with the friendly staff and worthwhile to arrange for delicious meals cooked by Moses if you prefer to stay in. We had good service with transportation to where we wanted to travel around the city, and David & Sandi were only too pleased to assist us with our needs. We have been travelling to Kenya for about 25 years and are satisfied to look no further for accommodation and service.
R & B from Canada

Room Tip: love the ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My friend and I found Sandavy almost by accident, and thankfully we did. The guest house itself was so comfortable, nice and safe but the staff made the stay worthwhile. More than anything Sandy and David the owners and especially James, our amazing safari guide and driver, made our time in Kenya the best ever. I highly recommend Sandavy for reliable, safe, honest, reasonable and comfortable accommodations and safari tours. Thank you Sandy, David and James!!

Room Tip: We stayed in group rooms and didn't see the private rooms, but the bathrooms are not always atta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

Address: Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Nairobi suburbs of Kilimani and the upmarket Lavington area with easy access to the city centre, Sandavy Guest Houses Bed and Breakfast are close to restaurants and shopping centres. For hospitality at its best, make Sandavy Guest Houses your Nairobi destination. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and students... we offer a comfortable, secure and affordable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandavy Guest House Hotel Nairobi
Sandavy Guest House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.