We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of a Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani
Save Saved
You added Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani to your Saves list
Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An oasis of a Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sandavy Guest House is really excellent. The rooms are immaculate and the staff so helpful and friendly. We stayed three nights. The breakfasts were good, the laundry service fast and efficient, the sitting room really comfortable with free use of a computer and the internet.
We also liked the "honesty" bar/fridge stocked with sodas and beer.
There is a shopping mall nearby.
Sandavy is a home from home not just a B&B

We had a good day touring Nairobi organised for us by Sandavy and also three days safari to Amboseli and Tsavo. Our driver James was excellent. The land rover had comfortable seats and an open viewing roof which was just about big enough for the two of us to view simultaneously.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
16
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Didsbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We feel fortunate to have found a safe, quiet resting place, both for following lengthy travels to Kenya and preceeding the long trip home. It is easy to book accommodation with the friendly staff and worthwhile to arrange for delicious meals cooked by Moses if you prefer to stay in. We had good service with transportation to where we wanted to travel around the city, and David & Sandi were only too pleased to assist us with our needs. We have been travelling to Kenya for about 25 years and are satisfied to look no further for accommodation and service.
R & B from Canada

Room Tip: love the ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My friend and I found Sandavy almost by accident, and thankfully we did. The guest house itself was so comfortable, nice and safe but the staff made the stay worthwhile. More than anything Sandy and David the owners and especially James, our amazing safari guide and driver, made our time in Kenya the best ever. I highly recommend Sandavy for reliable, safe, honest, reasonable and comfortable accommodations and safari tours. Thank you Sandy, David and James!!

Room Tip: We stayed in group rooms and didn't see the private rooms, but the bathrooms are not always atta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Sandavy Guesthouse is a peaceful haven while visiting Nairobi. Sandy and David are wonderful hosts who know how to make you feel at home. Their guesthouse is clean, safe and inviting. Their gardens are lovely and their staff are warm and helpful. We really liked the "local" feel, including the delicious meals. We highly recommend this guesthouse...superb value, intimate feel and a great place to meet other travellers!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

As a teacher I accompanied a group of 17 high school students along with one other teacher and we spent almost 2 weeks in Nairobi. David and Sandy were wonderful hosts, Moses made great food and we all felt comfortable and relaxed. Being able to create a safe and secure environment for my students was very important for us and this guest house felt like a home away from home after only a day or two. A fantastic experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed with David and Sandy for a couple of nights on our arrival in Nairobi in November. It was our first trip to Kenya and we found the accomodations to be pleasant and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts in the morning were delicious and the location was a great place to launch from for our exploration of Nairobi. Would highly recommend Sandavy to any friends who are planning to visit Nairobi!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed here in May of 2011. Hosts were fantastic. Accommodations were comfortable and clean. Wifi was a plus. Hosts were happy to store our luggage we were on safari. Also made breakfast and dinner when we requested it at reasonable prices. There was a fully stocked fridge with reasonably priced drinks at any time. Hosts also made all our tourist arrangements in Nairobi and transport to Kampala. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

Address: Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Nairobi suburbs of Kilimani and the upmarket Lavington area with easy access to the city centre, Sandavy Guest Houses Bed and Breakfast are close to restaurants and shopping centres. For hospitality at its best, make Sandavy Guest Houses your Nairobi destination. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and students... we offer a comfortable, secure and affordable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandavy Guest House Hotel Nairobi
Sandavy Guest House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.