We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani
Save
You added Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani to your Saves list
Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 178 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Sandavy is a lovely guest house with beautiful gardens and fascinating guests. We met people working on various volunteer jobs and had many terrific conversations learning about their efforts and expanding our own horizons. The guest house is large and very comfortable. The meals were great as was our room with king size bed. The staff are extremely helpful and the owners, Sandi and David are excellent resources for what to see in Nairobi and Kenya.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
16
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

From the start, customer service stood out as exceptional. We were approx. 1.5 hours late off of our flight because of visa lines and luggage issues, but our driver was still standing waiting for us with his sign and a smile. Upon our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and were provided with comfortable, clean accomodations. Breakfasts were great and David was extremely helpful in not only answering our questions but setting us up with an itinerary and contacts within the city to get everything done on our to do list. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this quiet and quaint guest house to anyone travelling to Nairobi!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

It is wonderful in all aspects and services. From personal in general, beginning with the gate keeper to the owners. Moses the cooker and his assistant, they maintain the small kitchen in the best conditions and very clean. You will have the best breakfast in town, including service, presentation, quality, quantity,variety and flavor. Moses fried eggs are cooked with all the classic english style,including ingredients and complements.

Room Tip: ideal for resting and relaxing with a good coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I was in Kenya for a reunion, revisiting friends and places from the 70s when I attended high school in Nairobi. It was a first visit for my husband. We were looking for a place to stay that was more in tune with a local experience - definitely not another hotel that might as well be in Seattle or Amsterdam. Sandavy was perfect for our needs! The guest house is clean, comfortable and quiet, and staff is extremely accommodating in meeting individual needs (try Moses' bagged lunch if you are spending a day on the road!) The location is ideal, close to downtown Nairobi as well as a nearby shopping mall with ATMs, restaurants, and a movie theater. We have wonderful memories of meals around Sandavy's dinner table with many fascinating fellow travelers from around the world.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

The staff at Sandavy are absolutely wonderful. Phyllis is an amazing hostess, Peter's smile could light up the sky, and Moses makes some killer fried eggs.

We had a wonderful stay at Sandavy-- it's a very secure place, with a family feel to the way they do business (though if boundaries are important to you, you can have that too). Sandavy offers a nice breakfast every morning complete with masala tea (you just have to ask). Phyllis will help you with just about anything, the rooms are very clean with good natural light (personal preference), and it's near a large supermarket mall with fairly good restaurants.

Only downsides are that the internet/wifi is incredibly slow. Then again, that might just be par for the course (we didn't find fast internet much of anywhere we went).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Sandavy Guest House (B&B) is a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed the entire experience - the staff is incredibly helpful and energetic. Breakfast was lovely everyday - dinners were great as well. Staff will help with transportation, laundry, getting around Nairobi, Safari's etc. We did a 1 day safari that was a great value and really incredible. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Overall happy with the stay.

This place is quite basic bare bones but had all the essentials and was very affordable.

The location is in a nicer part of town. The grounds were quite lovely and safe as well.

The service was excellent. They provided us with transportation to/from the airport. They also set us up with an excursion to Nairobi National Park and Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage.

Also they have an excellent cook/chef, who made vegetarian meals for my wife.

We used this as our home base both before and after our Masai Mara Safari, whom we booked with William Mangi of Kenya Explorer Safaris.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani

Address: Ndemi Close, Ndemi Rd, Nairobi 15006-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Nairobi suburbs of Kilimani and the upmarket Lavington area with easy access to the city centre, Sandavy Guest Houses Bed and Breakfast are close to restaurants and shopping centres. For hospitality at its best, make Sandavy Guest Houses your Nairobi destination. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and students... we offer a comfortable, secure and affordable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandavy Guest House Hotel Nairobi
Sandavy Guest House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandavy Guest House - Kilimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.