We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplest accommodation in Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Embassy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Embassy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Embassy
Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Gliwice
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simplest accommodation in Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just simplest place to stay in Nairobi. Good for budget travelers.
There is free wi-fi (rather slow), restaurant, they can organize taxi to airport for 2000KES (Oct 2013).
Located opposite market where you can buy souvenirs, also close to supermarkets where you can pay credit cards. Rather expensive if I compare to similar standard hostels in Central Europe, however East Africa is rather expensive place for tourists.
I didn't find anything cheaper with minimum facilities around. I'd likely return there if looking for accommodation in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
10
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent 4 nights there before returning back to Egypt .really like the double room I took with my friend , basic, clean and perfect for its price .
Friendly people ( even when we caused them some troubles due to misbehavior of a drunken friend )
The major advantage is the location, you will be close to everything as its almost at the city center of Nairobi.
Recommended for budget traveler .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stay 25 nights in this hotel,and I feel very comfortable!
The location is very convenient,the restaurants are very close to the hotel,for breakfast I recommend Noma Cafe,for lunch Chester House,and for dinner any...
Nothing to complain for the Hotel Embassy,the personal is quiet and prompt
The price is the best from Nairobi from far away
Thank you Embassy!

Room Tip: Near wireless router always
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesborough, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I felt as an Irish man very exposed to everything, the location being ok during the day became very dangerous at night. Maybe as a pit stop its ok but apart from that id stay away. In saying this the staff were very friendly and very welcoming. It's just a pity about the location and the slaughter house in front of it and the gospel singing in the building beside it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galib R, General Manager at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
hello Traveler
we are sorry for the experience you had while your stay at the Embassy.
Unfortunately there is a mobile church on Fridays 2 buildings away and they congregate on Friday evenings and pray into the night. I can assure you we have forwarded several complaints in regards to the same to the relevant authorities. As for the market it has a distinct attraction and the same has been grieved by locals too.
Hope the above explains our situation.
Our service to our guests is our priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, the staff at the hotel were great and very friendly. There is a well priced cafe inside the hotel, a good wifi connection and they can arrange airport pick ups. The room was nothing special and unfortunately there was alot of street noise which made sleeping slightly difficult, for one night however is was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have bee using the Embassy Hotel for years now. If you want to be in the center of Nairobi, it's hard to beat the Embassy. Safe. Friendly staff. Within walking distance of Kenyatta Ave. You will have to go out for food but luckily there's a very good restaurant next door, Bridges.
I have found the beds very comfortable here.
Basic but everything you'd need.
They even have wi-fi now.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors to get away from the street noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's hard to find budget but not so horrible accommodation in Nairobi, so this was OK choice. Double room was 31EUR per night/per room. We had booked a taxi to pick us up from airport, it costed 25$, the driver was very nice. Room size was okay, hot water in the shower, but toilet leaked, so no barefoot there :). No view from the window, well view to another wall. Mosquito net okay, usable. Room was worn-out, not so clean, very old and ruined furniture, bed was OK though. Didn't use the restaurant or spoke much to staff, so no idea about the service. Location is very good, well for us, we walked around the city few days (at daytime), shopped groceries from a supermarket (24h open) that is just few streets away. Felt safe. What is important in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Address: Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy is an established long serving hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Centrally located accommodating a homely atmosphere away from home. All our rooms are self contained, serviced with free WiFi, hot water and telephone facilities for the convenience of our guests. Within our establishment is a fully-fledged Restaurant that caters from Continental, Chinese, and Indian to Traditional African meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.