We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel ever....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Embassy to your Saves list
Hotel Embassy
Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the best hotel ever....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

...but its a sad indictment of other Nairobi hotels that this place offers a decent value for money option. Possibly not the safest area at night for women but it is fairly central and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we closed price on phone , when we came the price was 25% higher!! probably because we are "white".

they didn't let us see the room before we will pay..

very bad atitude of the reception there,

keep away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Please, listen to my advice: do not stay in this hotel! Wonder why? Answer is in three simple words: Dirty! Dirty! Dirty!
I was there two weeks ago and this was worst experience in my entire life. Can you imagine that I paid to sleep in such coop? They should pay you if you make it till the end of the night!
You can not look through the window because of many layers of dirt. I couldn't even take off my clothes when I wanted to go to bed because the sheet was so dirty. Bathroom is terrible! I could not even close the bathroom door because the toilet was positioned in the strange way and water was leaking from it. And, when I wanted to have a shower there was no hot water! Of course, bathtub does not exist. Opposite the leaking toilet is just a shower with a bucket underneath, so that a water you used during a shower could be collected in this bucket. How exciting, isn’t it?! But if you want a real fun, try to turn on the TV (yes this room has one)!
So, do I have to repeat: DIRTY ROOM!
For your own sake, do not stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Central
Location but surrounding area looks creepy at night. Average price with average size room. Basic facilities with a restaurant but the day I stayed there they didn't open to serve. Nairobi is expensive place this hotel is a good choice for budget travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

stayed one night en route to masai mara.just what i wanted, somewhere to bunk down.
the room was nice and neat and quite.the bed and pillow was just right.
the staff and management were absolutely terrific and solved the problem i had with the pick up service to wilson airport. i would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

In caotic dusty and overpriced Nairobi one of the overpriced but decent place to stay.
Clean ensuite-rooms has seen more days.Bathroom was OK.Sometimes water is not
running in this city.Tired rooms coming with bunk bed + mosquito net + fan +
wardrobe + Tv + head lamp + table & chairs + water filled jug and two glass.Get ready for an large and heavy door key which is not easy to carry and use but you will never forget when you are leaving.Sorroundings are not looking too dangerous but not to go out alone after dark is a good idea.Near to the Central Market and several food shops and around two/three blocks to the shopping mall has an little food court and internet and which is including an Nakumatt western type huge supermarket.All the rooms are not in same conditions and needs to contact and agree with them before coming. Management is OK and honest and security is working well.This is an centrally located & bit overpriced but secure place to stay.There is no breakfast.For a couple of days business travels I will come again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurashiki, Japan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed here en route form tanzania, just one night. $21 gets you a dorm-like room with a hot water shower and a comfortable bed, a bargain for a clean room in these parts. Had a very good night's sleep here. Staff is friendly and should you need to grab some snakcs etc there is a Tusky's just downthe street and a massive supermarket, "Nakumatt", around the corner and down the street, open 24 hours. I advise you to grab something to eat for breakfast at a market as the hotel restaurant seems to have no concept of real food (instant coffee and rotten fruit? Yech!)...
Paid a visit to the weekend "Masai market" the following day which was so filled with hard-sell touts that pestered me so much I left after 10 minutes. Shame, because they had some nice stuff and I was prepared to buy...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Address: Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy is an established long serving hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Centrally located accommodating a homely atmosphere away from home. All our rooms are self contained, serviced with free WiFi, hot water and telephone facilities for the convenience of our guests. Within our establishment is a fully-fledged Restaurant that caters from Continental, Chinese, and Indian to Traditional African meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.