We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT MEAL GREAT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 330 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL GREAT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went with a group of friends and our 15 year old daughter. Lovely setting, great attentive staff. We were given samosa's & dips to nibble on, we didn't have many though as we were looking forward to the meal. The concept was explained to us very clearly. They have a great salad bar with a good variety of salads & pasta's. You are served fries at the table if you want then the meat service begins. You just turn your card green for want more meat, red for no more - waiters just keep coming round with a lovely variety of well cooked meats - we even got to try crocodile. At the end they bought round some lovely banana's in cinnamon & pineapples. We all really enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    117
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Seriously good meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A superb selection of meats cooked in a wide variety of ways, allied with the salad buffet and good service make this place a lunchtime winner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Better Value & Meat Than The Carnivore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very reasonable prices and fantastic cuts of grilled meat. This is a fixed price per head, Brazilian-style BBQ house with un-limited servings of a selection of meats. They offer meat from rare to well done, which was a change for the better. From most places like this We were disappointed they didn't have enough prawns but really enjoyed everything from service, to atmosphere to flavour. Even the salads and salad bar choices were really good.

Parking is very bad so take a cab. The place is packed, so reserve ahead and be willing to wait a bit.

Our favourites:
Best was the prime rib, crocodile was delicious, lamb, grilled pineapple rolled in cinnamon for dessert

Avoid:
The seafood

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“croc meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

A very good meal for a reasonable price. We were four and turn our "feed me" card to show the green side. After returning from the well filled salad bar, the waiters (gauchos) started bringing in the meat. Ranging from chicken, lamb, pork to beef and crocodile. As long as you show the green card the meat keeps coming in. Red gives you a little rest. The desert was roasted pineapple with cinnamon. Still hot, a real treat!
Nice atmosphere, well trained staff, very good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The beef is amazing waiters are fabulous great meal nice atmosphere the best part is the desert the pinapple ot tastes so good you keep on wanting more you should sit outside not inside inside is not nice but out side is amazing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.