We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, a must to visit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, a must to visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have visited this place a couple of times and I have to say its a great experience, a must to visit when in Nairobi.

The service is great, the waiter gives you a quick brief and off you go to the salad bar, which is stocked with a great selection.

Back at your seat and within seconds you have about 7 waiters around you, with loads of different types of meat to choose from.

If you forget to turn your card to red! the waiters keep coming and coming...

There was 8 of us (4 adults & 4 kids) and we had a couple of drinks and including the meal it cost about 16,000 KSH, which is over 110 quid...not bad I suppose, but I think its one of the most expensive meals we're had in Nairobi.

Overall very friendly staff, great food if I had to say one negative thing there is a lack of parking within the compound..no great deal if you get a taxi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    119
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Brazilian BarBQ - Loved IT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went their with a group of office colleauges as a team dinner and we really loved the food. The food is halal and the meat used for BarBQ is excellent and light. None of us felt heavy after having more than what we could survive. The prices are also very reasonable for the quantity and quality of food served. The salad bar is also nice and the cheese block (a huge one) kept at the salad bar is something that surprises everyone. Do try their grilled pineapple, i found it to be really unique.

In all, totally loved the place! Unfortunately we discovered it too late in our stay and couldnt go back their again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious churrascaria in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We often take guests to Fogo Gaucho for a fun dinner, and we're never disappointed. From the attentive service to the well maintained salad bar, everything has been top notch. Our out of town guests are always impressed by the delicious crocodile, but we prefer the beef and lamb. Great choice for groups or out of town guests.

Tip: Take a taxi or use a driver as parking can be a little difficult.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brazil in Nairobi ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very good food, the meat is with good quality, they prepare according customer desires, a Brazil churrascaria in the heart of Nairobi,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Brazil in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place deserves its good reputation. The menu is what you expect in a Churrascsria. Being in Nairobi one might have thought there was a greater choice of meats such as gazelle. We did get some crocodile but it was otherwise beef, pork, lamb and chicken with some prawns thrown in. Great service and friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.