We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I give Fogo Gaucho 4 stars... not for the food quality, but for the fun.

Service is pretty good, but the parking outside not so good. Better to take a taxi to this location.

Overall the quality of the meat is only average (some quite poor). Most of it is well done, very fatty, and too salty. This is not a restaurant for fine dining so don't expect any nice expensive cuts of meat. You're not going to get your favorite steak or ribs here. However, it is fun to watch the large slabs of meat pass by on spears.

Fun to experience if you've never been. You can choose whatever type of meat you want while the waiters pass by with different cuts of chicken, pork, beef, etc... lots of different types. They'll cut off as much as you want. Get ready to stuff yourself. At least that's what I did. And you'll need a few cold beers to wash it all down, especially since most cuts are very salty. I recommend the Tusker.

There is also a small vegetable buffet off to the side, but its pretty limited and not very good.

This is a restaurant you come to for fun and for the novelty and fun. Bring a group and everyone will have something to talk about. No one will love it, but no one will hate it either. I'm sure the real Brazilian BBQ houses in Brazil are much better than this one, but its a good spot for dinner if you find yourself in Nairobi and craving large amounts of meat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    111
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best modern rodizio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A modern churrascaria where rodizio service is typical offered. Passadores (meat waiters) come to the table with knives and a skewer, on which are speared various kinds of meat. The meat they served was tender and loved the Brazilian attire the waiters had on.
Something to try is their skewered pineapple and they have a variety of salads in their salad bar as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Grill with the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fogo Gaucho is a typical Brazilian rodizio. Eat all you can, different types of meat grilled on charcoal. Salads, cheese, desserts, whatever... as long as you have your green card turned up on the table they will keep serving you... if you really can't take more turn it around and show the red side of the card. Fun for children also, because they do the card part. Good place to go if you have hollow legs...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The variety of meats is good. The quality met my expectations. Service could improve on speed.
I liked the selection of salad as well. Overall, a good place to eat especially in a large party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best steak house in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I decided to treat my best friend on her birthday by going to Fogo Gaucho. I was not disappointed. The service is great and waiters pay attention to detail. We started off with their salads and I must say I had their potato salad which was the best I've ever heard in my life. Simply amazing! The meats are incredible...you can have rare, medium rare and well done meats all you can eat! At the end of it all we were all stuffed and wondered how we were going to sleep through the night.
Thank you Fogo Gaucho for the excellent experience. We shall be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.