We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Prawns Ran Away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $200 - $250
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fogo Gaucho is Nairobi's Favourite Steakhouse set up in a beautiful ambience that gives a feel as though you are in a corner of South Brazil. If you are looking for a prime dining experience in a stylish, ambient environment either for a family outing, business lunch meeting or office party, Fogo Gaucho offers top class service to fit any occasion and a playground for children everyday.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Prawns Ran Away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've been several times and every time has been really good. The meat is excellent and the service attentive. Only four stars because one time the prawns weren't there!!! We kept asking and asking and not one person had the decency to just tell us there weren't any, they just kept lying that they were coming.
The salad bar is really good with a cold ham joint, salami and a large cheese which is a nice touch.
Parking is there though inside it can be a bit tight.
All in all a good night out for business or pleasure, I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 967Andy_Dale967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was so nice having a lunch here,as we were waiting to proceed to the airport,the food,drinks and the service was great,looking forward to return

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank calvin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwaura, Manager at Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments Calvin. Glad you enjoyed the Fogo Gaucho Experience. You are welcome again and again when in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Excellent as long as you are not Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a great spot in Nairobi, it is as if you have been transported to Brazil. Since the Carnivore no longer serves game meat this would have to be a top pick for grilled meat. Get there early as this place fills up and becomes very active by about 745. You will see many large parties a good mix of locals and tourists make this a fun spot to dine. You start with the salad bar and then on your table is a card. When you flip the card to the green side the meat starts coming and coming and coming! When you need a break or are forced to say "uncle" you flip the card to the red side. In addition to the wide selection of grilled meats there is also grilled fish and prawns available. Be sure and save room for the amazing grilled pineapple (rolled in cinnamon sugar before grilling), it is succulent.

This is a fun spot to go to with friends and just enjoy a wonderful meal. You will not need to eat for a few days after this. It is in walking distance of the Sankara Hotel, and safe to walk to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albatross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubicon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Africa has Gaucho's?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having dined in a "Fogo de Chao" in Washington DC, I have to admit I was skeptical about Kenya's ability to replicate the experience. Much to my surprise, this restaurant has an excellent presentation the food and ambiance as first experienced on the American continent. Starting with a well represented local salad bar, we transitioned to slices of selected cuts of beef, pork and poultry presented in true Gaucho style on sizzling skewers by Kenyans who tirelessly hurried from table to table to ensure we were well provisioned. There were even red and green pogs to turn over to indicate if you wanted more or no more meat. Desert was delectable slices of Kenyan pinneapple lightly roasted and cut lengthwise from the plant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeRoemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwaura, Manager at Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to have topped your expectations. You are welcome again and again when in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great ambiance and fantastic food. All you can eat ribs! I love that! I had such a hearty time it was great. The staff was friendly and allowed for my friends and i to have such a comfy fun time. Thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing