We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as long as you are not Vegetarian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Excellent as long as you are not Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a great spot in Nairobi, it is as if you have been transported to Brazil. Since the Carnivore no longer serves game meat this would have to be a top pick for grilled meat. Get there early as this place fills up and becomes very active by about 745. You will see many large parties a good mix of locals and tourists make this a fun spot to dine. You start with the salad bar and then on your table is a card. When you flip the card to the green side the meat starts coming and coming and coming! When you need a break or are forced to say "uncle" you flip the card to the red side. In addition to the wide selection of grilled meats there is also grilled fish and prawns available. Be sure and save room for the amazing grilled pineapple (rolled in cinnamon sugar before grilling), it is succulent.

This is a fun spot to go to with friends and just enjoy a wonderful meal. You will not need to eat for a few days after this. It is in walking distance of the Sankara Hotel, and safe to walk to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    89
    93
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rubicon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Africa has Gaucho's?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having dined in a "Fogo de Chao" in Washington DC, I have to admit I was skeptical about Kenya's ability to replicate the experience. Much to my surprise, this restaurant has an excellent presentation the food and ambiance as first experienced on the American continent. Starting with a well represented local salad bar, we transitioned to slices of selected cuts of beef, pork and poultry presented in true Gaucho style on sizzling skewers by Kenyans who tirelessly hurried from table to table to ensure we were well provisioned. There were even red and green pogs to turn over to indicate if you wanted more or no more meat. Desert was delectable slices of Kenyan pinneapple lightly roasted and cut lengthwise from the plant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwaura, Manager at Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to have topped your expectations. You are welcome again and again when in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great ambiance and fantastic food. All you can eat ribs! I love that! I had such a hearty time it was great. The staff was friendly and allowed for my friends and i to have such a comfy fun time. Thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, meat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Laid back atmosphere, very reasonable prices and fantastic cuts of grilled meat. Wash it down with a glass of beer and you have all the ingredients for a guys night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genuinekenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outclasses Carnivore and any meat eating joint without a doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family, the company I work for have been to Fogo countless times and we NEVER tire. A large choice of salads to choose from, countless cuts of fresh succulent meat. What more can a carnivore ask for? Topped off by friendly Johnny Zanrosso who makes sure he never forgets his regulars. How many times have we sung "Happy Birthday" at Fogo? How many times have we arrived without a reservation and found a table? Always! That is most endearing. You only have to recommend this restaurant once and the person is hooked. I'm glad that they are growing because they DESERVE it, however with growth something intimate goes and one begins to feel a bit like they are coming through a revolving door...."in and out".. My main concern is the turnover of excellent waiters who have come to know one's favourite cut like the Garlic Beef and the fresh Prawns. Keep your good staff Johnny; they are an asset! Oh and more of the band please :they are very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.