We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa has Gaucho's?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Rubicon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Africa has Gaucho's?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having dined in a "Fogo de Chao" in Washington DC, I have to admit I was skeptical about Kenya's ability to replicate the experience. Much to my surprise, this restaurant has an excellent presentation the food and ambiance as first experienced on the American continent. Starting with a well represented local salad bar, we transitioned to slices of selected cuts of beef, pork and poultry presented in true Gaucho style on sizzling skewers by Kenyans who tirelessly hurried from table to table to ensure we were well provisioned. There were even red and green pogs to turn over to indicate if you wanted more or no more meat. Desert was delectable slices of Kenyan pinneapple lightly roasted and cut lengthwise from the plant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwaura, Manager at Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to have topped your expectations. You are welcome again and again when in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    149
    25
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great ambiance and fantastic food. All you can eat ribs! I love that! I had such a hearty time it was great. The staff was friendly and allowed for my friends and i to have such a comfy fun time. Thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, meat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Laid back atmosphere, very reasonable prices and fantastic cuts of grilled meat. Wash it down with a glass of beer and you have all the ingredients for a guys night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genuinekenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outclasses Carnivore and any meat eating joint without a doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family, the company I work for have been to Fogo countless times and we NEVER tire. A large choice of salads to choose from, countless cuts of fresh succulent meat. What more can a carnivore ask for? Topped off by friendly Johnny Zanrosso who makes sure he never forgets his regulars. How many times have we sung "Happy Birthday" at Fogo? How many times have we arrived without a reservation and found a table? Always! That is most endearing. You only have to recommend this restaurant once and the person is hooked. I'm glad that they are growing because they DESERVE it, however with growth something intimate goes and one begins to feel a bit like they are coming through a revolving door...."in and out".. My main concern is the turnover of excellent waiters who have come to know one's favourite cut like the Garlic Beef and the fresh Prawns. Keep your good staff Johnny; they are an asset! Oh and more of the band please :they are very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place if you want to turn on the meat faucet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great variety of meat and I found it to be pretty authentic. The salad bar isn't that good, but who goes to a churrascaria for greens?

They also have a really nice grilled pineapple dessert. Great choice for guys night out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.