We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but defn. better than The Carnivore...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not perfect but defn. better than The Carnivore...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Been to Fogo Gaucho several times & prefer it to the other eat-meat-till-you-drop restaurants such as Carnivore, Safari Park & Pampa Churascaria]....

Raves;
- Wide range of well prepared meats.
- Wide variety of salads & appetizers.
- Small & somewhat intimate compared to their counterparts.

Rants;
- Service is somewhat wanting ; the meat servers are always in a hurry, most rarely bother to explain/elaborate the dishes they're serving, drink waiters always need to be reminded to replenish drinks, we ordered ice cream for desert and it took too long to arrive.
- Poor choice of location ; crowded entrance & hardly any parking inside Viking House.
- Ambiance needs an upgraded.
- Lacks in-house entertainment which would be a good add-on [ a band, pianist, background music etc].

Tip ; Tends to get very busy so you might want to make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    120
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty meat and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Since we are always on the lookout to try and find a place that offers nice cooked meat meat, we decided to give Fogo Gaucho a try! Am always picky when it comes to the meat that am being served(don't like the fat much). The meat did not take long long to arrive and it was very yummy and juicy, the bar provided us with a variety of options to drink later on. Parking is also adequate and safe, we did not have to go far looking for a place to park.
Will definitely go again next Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great service & great cuts of meat, cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate here after an unsatisfying meal at the carnivore (we are big meat eaters and the rest of our trip had chewy goat). Don't even bother withthe carnivore. they no longer have any wild game since Kenya law forbids it now.

the food here was great. much better attention to the cooking than the fire pits at carnivore. We loved the garlic beef but all the meats were delicious and not too well done, not too rare (or raw as at the carnivore) the salad bar was also great.

towards the end of the meal someone came over to find out what meats we might be waitning for and brought these over

we had the set menu and a few large bottles of water for four people. the bill came to about 9500KSH or US$115. a real bargain compaired to the carnivore!

I'd eat here again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Carnivore for far less!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were visiting friends in Nairobi who took us to Fogo Gaucho as an alternative to the Carnivore. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great salad bar with LOTS of options. And, the meat that was brought to the table on large skewers was wonderful. It doesn't have the same ambience as Carnivore, and it doesn't offer all the unusual African game meat, but if you're in Nairobi and in the mood for a lot of meat, it's a great place to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Such a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

yummy meats though some were tough. The crocodile was impossible. The sweet fried banana was such a treat! Attentive wait staff and warm atmosphere. The best part of this experience was the pineapple/cinnamon desert. This is a restaurant I will be going back to again. Great value for money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.