We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty meat and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria

Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria
Viking House | Off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 4454439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty meat and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Since we are always on the lookout to try and find a place that offers nice cooked meat meat, we decided to give Fogo Gaucho a try! Am always picky when it comes to the meat that am being served(don't like the fat much). The meat did not take long long to arrive and it was very yummy and juicy, the bar provided us with a variety of options to drink later on. Parking is also adequate and safe, we did not have to go far looking for a place to park.
Will definitely go again next Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    147
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great service & great cuts of meat, cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate here after an unsatisfying meal at the carnivore (we are big meat eaters and the rest of our trip had chewy goat). Don't even bother withthe carnivore. they no longer have any wild game since Kenya law forbids it now.

the food here was great. much better attention to the cooking than the fire pits at carnivore. We loved the garlic beef but all the meats were delicious and not too well done, not too rare (or raw as at the carnivore) the salad bar was also great.

towards the end of the meal someone came over to find out what meats we might be waitning for and brought these over

we had the set menu and a few large bottles of water for four people. the bill came to about 9500KSH or US$115. a real bargain compaired to the carnivore!

I'd eat here again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
202 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Carnivore for far less!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were visiting friends in Nairobi who took us to Fogo Gaucho as an alternative to the Carnivore. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great salad bar with LOTS of options. And, the meat that was brought to the table on large skewers was wonderful. It doesn't have the same ambience as Carnivore, and it doesn't offer all the unusual African game meat, but if you're in Nairobi and in the mood for a lot of meat, it's a great place to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Such a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

yummy meats though some were tough. The crocodile was impossible. The sweet fried banana was such a treat! Attentive wait staff and warm atmosphere. The best part of this experience was the pineapple/cinnamon desert. This is a restaurant I will be going back to again. Great value for money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Made my valentine dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was my first time to dine at Fogo Gaucho and it also happened to be their busiest day of the year but they did not disappoint. Even sans reservations, we were able to secure a table in less than half an hour.

They offer you a buffet salad bar with a wide range of salads and cold cuts as well as a few starchy accompaniments that are necessary to complete a Kenyan's dining experience.

Their eat-as-much-meat-as-you-can model is not unique in Nairobi, but the frequency of the meat traffic is higher than other restaurants using the same model. You have a double sided badge with green and red colours on either side. If you want the meat to keep coming you turn the green side up and should you wish to retire or take a break, then you switch it to red.

Their prices are also pocket friendly though on the night of my visit there was a supplement. I hope to make my second visit soon and compare.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo Gaucho Churrascaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.