We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "multitask" place where you can come for lunch, drinks, clothes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Rustique - CLOSED

Le Rustique
General Mathenge Drive and Mpaka Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
721609601
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good "multitask" place where you can come for lunch, drinks, clothes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I come regularly to Nairobi and have been at this place a few times already over the last years. It is conveniently located in Westlands not too far from the shopping mall, has enough parking area, and despite the saying that you have to book, there is always place .... I have been here on the terrace for beers in the evening, for coffee in the morning, and now this time for lunch. I had an excellent grilled calamari, very well done, not too much, just enough, really very well, an itsy pitsy spicy. My congratulations, I will come again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    18
    40
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After years of having lunch/brunch/dinner there, no more!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am a resident in Nairobi. I used to enjoy going there but not any more. I took my important guest there last night and main course was awfully salty. I politely spoke to the waiter that my guest had only one bite and stopped eating. I tried to continue eating my food but mine also tasted nothing but salt. The waiter spoke to the management lady whom I do see very often there. Her gesture showed "don't be burdened as others are eating." The waiter's attitude changed from being OK to rather rude. He immeditely took away our food and showed desert menu. Literally we had not eaten at all. They, of course, later charged us full amount - for the food we could not eat. One could die by eating such salty food if one comes everyday. By the way, the waiter did not even ask if we wanted to take the food home (in case we can.... re-cook with something else so that it would not be as salty as that). Our plate was full of food. On another note, the waiter kept kicking my guest's chair every time he passed. My guest was very annoyed as it was so frequent. Any way, I am totally disappointed with the attitude of both the managment and the waiter. They perhaps did not realize we were oberving how they were talking. After all those years of dropping tens of thousands of KSH there - I will never go back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Lazy sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place has some seriously good cheescake. The breakfast is good - they are famous for their crepes. We had a great time just hanging out for a very lazy brunch. The mimosa's are excellent and overall it offered great value. Kids are kept entertained in the far end of the garden, so its relatively quiet - perfect for those who indulged a bit too much in Kenyan nightlife the night before ;) I would definitely visit there again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Good food and evening ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This restaurant is open for dinner once a week on Wednesdays, otherwise its mainly a lunch / daytime venue. The menu is quite varied - not necessarily French as I had expected from the name. I had the salmon (I did have to send it back as it was seared as stated on the menu but slightly under-seared in my opinion!), my colleagues had tilapia, and there were lots of other alternatives as well.

The chocolate fondant dessert was excellent!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Serves daily dishes, fresh juices,brunches, has an outdoor seating and has WIFI! Its very close to Westgate mall

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rustique also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Rustique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.