We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
The Jungle, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

Most say that I was pretty sure it could not have the taste of Thai, but delightful to be in the wrong, and the food was as being in Thailand, restaurant is also very nice, reminding me of Bangkok.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    54
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The food was excellent and the service was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW via mobile

If I lived in Nairobi I would be a regular. I live in Chicago and love Thai food, and until tonight thought I had the best, I was mistaken. Thai Chi at the Stanly Hotel is by far the best yet. The service was just as good as the food. Alex was great and made my husband and I feel welcome and comfortable. I give this 5 stars all around.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Discriminates against children!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Read the great reviews for Thai Chi at the Stanley on this site and went personally yesterday to book lunch for a special occasion for a party of five. When I made the booking, face to face with the manager, he did not ask about the ages of the guests, and it certainly did not think it necessary to tell him. On arriving at restaurant today, the hostess looked at my one year old daughter and said "sorry, no children under 12 allowed". She called the restaurant manager to see if they would make an exception, and he said no, that is the rule. This is my first experience in many years of a restaurant banning children. I spent a year in Thailand a few years back and all restaurants there loved child guests. I suggest you post a warning on your site to ensure other parents do not face the disappointment and embarrassment I faced.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Authentic Thai food at affordable prices. Friendly staff, and a great atmosphere! Say hello to Alex!

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Fab Thai in Nairobi, as good as any Thai Restaurant I have been to anywhere!
Don't give it a miss. Closes at 10 so go early.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.