We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Thai cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had dinner at this good restaurants located at the Stanley Hotel. Excellent Thai food with great flavors and as close as you can get to the best Thai food. Starters are big, so consider sharing. So are the main courses (very generous servings). Excellent service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Benbatouta,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience.
We are very glad you enjoyed the dining experience from the service, to the meals and portion sizes.

We look forward to hosting you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    56
    21
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great food, excellent service by the staff Titus and team. That was an experience that I will definitely recommend to travellers and locals alike.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Chepkoech,

Thank you for dining at Thai Chi and taking the time to post your review.
We are extremely proud to note you will be recommending us to others; your positive words have been shared with Titus and the team.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Many thanks,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but rip off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Was there for a business dinner. Waiters completely exploited the situation. After the meal at the time of the bill inrealise that whatever we called for a single portion was charged as double portion. Several sodas were charged without even being ordered. Since it was a business meeting no one wanted to argue. But felt cheated

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Akshay G,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience at Thai Chi.
It is a pleasure to note that you chose to host your business dinner at Thai Chi and we are glad you found the overall meal “good.”

Kindly allow me to expand on the order taking process, which is standard in the restaurant;
After ordering items, it is standard for the waiter to repeat the orders and confirm the same with the host before placing orders with the kitchen. Being a business dinner, it is typical for starters to be per individual and not shared, unless otherwise requested. Hence, in this instance two portions of starters were ordered as requested.
Being a fine dining restaurant, as with all similar restaurants of this nature, the service team are trained to “top up glasses” of their diners until requested otherwise by the host; with additional beverages ordered again at the tables request.
In this case, both standards mentioned were practiced by the waiter.

In viewing of the foresaid I hope this eliminates any notion of you feeling “cheated.”

Once again, we thank you for your comments, and do hope to welcome you back to Thai Chi in the near future.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“over 30$ for 2 bottles of water...not at all good value for money!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've been at the Thai restaurant in the New Stanley Hotel on my last night of a 2 weeks holiday trip across Kenya and Tanzania. And it has been my biggest mistake of the whole trip......
When you pay over 140$ for a dinner for 2 people in Nairobi (where average cost of restaurant is 15$/person), drinking only water and no dessert, you leave extremely concerned. And the menu is not very transparent to let you realize how much you are spending as it is only in local currency and they add 28% service on top.

But let me start telling you from the beginning.
I've been previously host in the Stanley hotel for a business trip and I had a quick brunch at the Thai restaurant having good memory of it. On top I saw it well rated on Tripadvisor (4th restaurant in all Nairobi!!!!!). so I decided to go back.
The location is very well designed and stylish, However since the beginning we felt a bit unconformable as the place was empty and there were more waiters than customers and a bit pressing you with suggestions for ordering (and even feeling they watching at you while you eat ......).
We ordered 1 starter shared for 2, and the 2 main dishes. While we were ordering we discovered from the waiter that the main dish was coming with no side vegetables/bread/rice so we were suggested to order a rice and a noodle (which suddenly added 40$ to the bill).

Even more , we were suggested to take sparkling water and I didn't check the cost of it to finally discover in the bill that each bottle of 0.5 liter was costing over 15$....for a total of over 30$ for 1 L water.
Please note all the price in the menu are in local currency, and they add 28% service and tax on top at the end. This is clearly written on the menu and they even come to tell you there is extra service charge, still it is not easy to realize how much you are exactly spending.

Finally, food is good, but nothing special vs an average Thai or Chinese you can find in any big city. But over 30$ for 1L of water never happened to me in any expensive city in Europe or in the US. We did not want to argue with waiter on my last day of vacation so we paid and left the restaurant feeling we had lost or better gifted to the Stanley over 100$ overprice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Giovanni C,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our Thai Restaurant. As you will have noticed, we value all our guest feedback and this has lead to our continuous improvement.
Thank you for acknowledging our ambiance and décor – we believe that the aesthetics of the restaurant play a vital role in enhancing the guest experience; and we are glad you found this appealing.

Within this country, as it is internationally, it is standard practise for all menus to be in the local currency and have mandatory governmental taxes levied on the same. These governmental taxes are mandatory, and are added to each menu item at the point of billing, as is stated on both the food and beverage menu, the addition of these taxes may have attributed to your comments of the restaurant being “overpriced”.
With regards to the choices of water available, we offer two brands – local and imported; currently we believe that the imported brand is far superior to the local one, being higher in terms of quality and quantity and with this in mind your server was only looking to add value to your dining experience by offering the best of what we have to offer in terms of mineral water selection. When taking orders communicating this clearly to all our esteemed guests will be an area that we shall focus on.

Thai Chi has been rated as the “Best Authentic Thai Restaurant” in East Africa by the Thai Embassy in Kenya, and among many other reviewers.
We believe that their feedback is based on the entire experience ranging from the Price, menu ingredients, selection, to the ambiance, service and staff interaction and not in isolation of a single item. I must attain we are not underrating your views on the Prices, but as per different consumer experiences the same has been rated differently before; whereby we are known to offer superior quality in terms of value for money.

We do respect your opinion and we trust this explanation will change your opinion on future recommendations to potential guests.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda Province, Angola
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent food, great deco, nice service! Try it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I think this is one of the most emblematic hotels in Nairobi.
The decoration of the space has a lot of detail and even when it comes to the food the presentation is creative and very good to look at.
The menu is so rich that you want to order half of it. Excelent choices for vegans.
The food is very food and the service as well.
You should book in advance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Evaristontour,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Thai Chi, and taking the time to post your most complimentary review.

Your comments have been well received by the team; who always strive to exceed expectations, from the kitchen team to the staff.
We are glad you enjoyed your experience, please do visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.