We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Outside of Thailand, this is about as good as it gets food-wise. Went with my husband, who never seems to get enough chili, so he was quite happy that the chef really did make everything he ordered appropriately "Thai spicy." My only tiny quibble is that the curries are a little thicker than what you would get in Thailand, but their taste and composition more than make up for that. Try one of the duck dishes, they're delicious. Big kudos to the wait staff - they are all extremely welcoming and attentive, but don't hover over you at your table. They also do a surprisingly delicious fried ice cream for dessert; I've had it at other restaurants and have never been impressed, but this was recommended to me by one of the waiters and it was fantastic as promised.

As some reviewers have pointed out, Thai Chi is perhaps a little pricey, but considering the quality of ingredients, extremely well trained staff, and its location in one of Nairobi's nicest hotels, it is definitely worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Erin S,

Reading your review on our Thai Chi Restaurant was a total pleasure, I thank you for sharing this experience with fellow reviewers.

Our chefs are indeed from Thailand and they work with the ethos of providing the authentic Thai culinary experience to all our diners; off course spiciness on the palate defers from guest to guest; but we are very pleased that the chef produced the dishes to your liking.
Regarding your comments on the curries; this has been noted, however, we acknowledge the fact that you appreciated the taste of the curries and one of our more popular dishes the Honey Duck.

Our staff play a vital role in delivering a pleasant dining experience and am very proud that you appreciated their services.

We believe that our restaurant does offer value for money, and your highlighting the same is much appreciated.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again,

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very nice thai food - fresh ingredients - great tastes.
The staff is very friendly but a bit too stiff to my liking.
Surely worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Gwen_BE,

Many thanks for your review on Thai Chi; thank you for highlighting the fresh ingrediants and great taste as well as friendly staff.

We thank you for your comments and recommendations.
It will be a pleasure to host you once again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“They should call it ‘Chi’ Restaurant; since they can’t make decent ‘Pud Thai’”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ok, I know I am in Africa, not Bangkok, but a 5 star hotel that has a Thai restaurant that can’t make a decent “Pud Thai” is like an Italian restaurant that can’t make decent spaghetti - a failure. The Pad Thai at this restaurant has no flavor and comes with three small shrimp - that's it - noodles and a few shrimp. Then came the bill: you take guess what a Pad Thai, some stir fried vegetables and rice + one beer – cost? Go on take a guess… Nope, wrong. Try $59.26US or in KS5019. Yes, the setting is nice, the service is good but the price I paid for mediocre (at best) Thai food makes this place: NOT Recommended. 1.5 stars NOTE: Around the corner is a decent Italian place called 'Trattoria'... try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear FdoAmerica,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our Thai Restaurant. As you will have noticed, we value all our customers feedback and this has lead to our continuous improvement.

As you have rightly put, our restaurant is in a 5 Star hotel within Africa and not Bangkok. It is a fact that it has been rated as the “Best Authentic Thai Restaurant” in East Africa by the Thai Embassy in Kenya, and among many other reviewers.
We believe that their feedback is based on the entire experience ranging from the menu ingredients, selection, to the ambiance, service and staff interaction and not in isolation of a single item. I must attain we are not underrating your views on the Pad Thai, but as per different consumer experiences the same has been rated differently before.
We endeavor to maintain recipie consistency to satisfy as many consumer tastes as possible, and we shall take into account your comments as well.

The figure you have mentioned for your meal is correct; we believe and this has been confirmed by many of our esteemed diners that the pricing reflects value for money; in keeping in mind that we classify Thai Chi as our Fine dining restaurant. This figure is further inclusive of the statutory 28% tax, which perhaps explains why you may have found it rather “steep.”

We do respect your opinion and we trust this explaination will change your opinion on future recommendations to potential guests.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food and spices, not to be missed when at the Stanley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Make sure you book a table as otherwise you may have to wait out a cycle at dinner time. And when led to the table, a superior dining experience awaits. Great food, attentive service and well worth the little extra money a meal here costs compared to the Thorn Tree.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Safari Aficionado,

It is always a pleasure hosting yourself and we are truly grateful that you took the time to dine at Thai Chi and review our services offered.

Thank you for rating your dining experience as superior, highlighting the food and service experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves at Thai Chi and the staff were absolutely friendly and polite. We were warmly received and conducted to our table with a charming smile and genuine conversation no small talk here at all. The service standards are truly amazing and the food was great. To complement it all, the staff surprised my wife with a birthday cake with quite a bit of singing; it was quite pleasant indeed. The giveaways at the end of the night was a welcome surprise and I have already put my business card holder to good use. Thank you for a delightful experience and keep it up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wife’s birthday at Thai Chi restaurant and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Reading your review was extremely gratifying from highlighting our personal touch as far as service is concerned to the great meal that was offered.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your night and look forward to hosting you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.