We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice to find an authentic Thai restaurant in the heart of Nairobi. Service was excellent, as was the ambiance and food. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Thai Chi restaurant and reviewing its services. It is extremely pleasing to note you found the food, service and ambiance excellent. Many thanks for highly recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great service, food needs to do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff were absolutely excellent, attentive, friendly, courteous. Food didn't do them justice. Tempura vegetables were just deep fried in batter for example. Rice and Green curry were pretty good though. At the prices charged, you'd expect something a lot better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We have acknowledged your comments regarding the Tempura Vegetables, and are disappointed they did not meet with your satisfaction. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the Food and Beverage team and acted on.
Many thanks for your kind words on the staff, they are an integral part of our team and are valued greatly.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and be assured we will strive to exceed all your expectations.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had a wonderful meal at Thai Chi restuarant at the Stanley hotel. The service was amazing, when we arrived Matilda and Martin greeted us with warm smiles and made us feel welcome and the service was great all night. It is a bit expensive but worth it. I diffinately won't forget that meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to dine at the Thai Chi restaurant and taking the time to review your experiance.
It was a pleasure to read that the services offered by Martin and Matilda exceeded your expectations and we are glad that we offered you an un-forgettable meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
“the best dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

i had had a rough day and wanted a place i could feel like i was outside the country then a friend suggested thai chi for me and i didn't regret. from the warm matilda's smile and escort to the ''your highness and pulling a chair for me made me feel like a royal and amazingly the rice that comes with curry was an amazing suggestion. wilson's fast and efficient service was something that i would not fail to mention. i can surely say i went to thailand and back without using a plane. thanks to thai chi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Kelvin K,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to post your positive review.
It is very gratifying to read your remarks on the staff mentioned and we have passed your comments on to them and acknowledged their efforts.
We are extremely pleased you enjoyed one of our signature dishes – the Green Chicken Curry, and are glad that we were able to transport you to Thialand through your dining experience.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Starting with Matilda's smile as you approach the restaurant this was gonna be a worthy experience, she escorted us to our reserved table and sat us down addressing my companion as 'your highness' which lead to an endless blushing moment.

We were served by Elizabeth with the assistance of Nicholas and John and they had the menu at their finger tips no need to peruse the menu. There was no time we had our table not attended to.

We enjoyed the whole experience, we do recommend the restaurant for a romantic! and for a wow!! experience.

Casira Carol

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Casira,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to post your generous review.
It is very gratifying to read your remarks on our colleagues mentioned and we have passed your comments on to them and acknowledged their efforts.

Thank you for recommending us as a “Romantic dining venue” , we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.