We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 346 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
cape town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had a wonderful meal at Thai Chi restuarant at the Stanley hotel. The service was amazing, when we arrived Matilda and Martin greeted us with warm smiles and made us feel welcome and the service was great all night. It is a bit expensive but worth it. I diffinately won't forget that meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to dine at the Thai Chi restaurant and taking the time to review your experiance.
It was a pleasure to read that the services offered by Martin and Matilda exceeded your expectations and we are glad that we offered you an un-forgettable meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    52
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
“the best dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

i had had a rough day and wanted a place i could feel like i was outside the country then a friend suggested thai chi for me and i didn't regret. from the warm matilda's smile and escort to the ''your highness and pulling a chair for me made me feel like a royal and amazingly the rice that comes with curry was an amazing suggestion. wilson's fast and efficient service was something that i would not fail to mention. i can surely say i went to thailand and back without using a plane. thanks to thai chi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Kelvin K,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to post your positive review.
It is very gratifying to read your remarks on the staff mentioned and we have passed your comments on to them and acknowledged their efforts.
We are extremely pleased you enjoyed one of our signature dishes – the Green Chicken Curry, and are glad that we were able to transport you to Thialand through your dining experience.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Starting with Matilda's smile as you approach the restaurant this was gonna be a worthy experience, she escorted us to our reserved table and sat us down addressing my companion as 'your highness' which lead to an endless blushing moment.

We were served by Elizabeth with the assistance of Nicholas and John and they had the menu at their finger tips no need to peruse the menu. There was no time we had our table not attended to.

We enjoyed the whole experience, we do recommend the restaurant for a romantic! and for a wow!! experience.

Casira Carol

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Casira,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to post your generous review.
It is very gratifying to read your remarks on our colleagues mentioned and we have passed your comments on to them and acknowledged their efforts.

Thank you for recommending us as a “Romantic dining venue” , we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
469 reviews 469 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food in Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent thai food, top service, albeit a bit pushy on the up sell side (which wine? which rice? wanna start with soup? please review us on tripadvisor...) The shrimp dish was great, big, juicy shrimp with actual flavor instead of the usual cheap farm shrimp found in cheaper thai restaurants. The red duck curry was nice, but the curry sauce had a weird consistency, as if thickened with a roux. Keep in mind that on top of the fairly steep prices 28% for tax and service will be added. Cheapest water option is a local water in a fancy glass bottle .75l for 450KES. They say that last order is 9PM, but we saw new guests arriving at 9:30 ... disappointed that we had to leave our 9 year old in our room.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Caipirina,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Stanly and taking time to review Thai Chi.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal experience with us and highly appreciate your feedback and have taken a keen interest in the issues raised.
Last orders for dinner are indeed at 2130hrs, however, depending on circumstances we endeavor to be flexible in accommodating those guests who arrive late for dinner.
Kindly note, we have reviewed our policy regarding children and during lunch hours on weekends we shall be more then happy to welcome the whole family to dine with us.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“an absolute must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

One of the best Thai meals I have ever eaten! Elizabeth took great care of our every need. A beautiful restaurant, great menu, and nice atmosphere. Chocolate lovers, you must try the Chocolate Coconut Tart, it is beyond delicious. Thanks Elizabeth for a great dining experience! Sante

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Kimstreep,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi, and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Stating that your meal was “one of the best Thai meals” you have ever eaten and highlighting the Chocolate Coconut Tart as a “must try”, is truly high praise indeed and will be shared with our chef and team.
We sincerely appreciate your glowing feedback on Elizabeth and shall ensure your comments are passed on to her.

We are very grateful for your glowing review, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.