We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service... at a price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing food and service... at a price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had gone with my wife for lunch. At the outset, they do not take children below 12 yrs age.

The food was excellent - variety of starters and soup was not overflowing with coconut, which is the problem in most of the Tom Kha soups around town. For the palate that can manage the chilli levels, they give healthy doses.

I would definitely go there again and will recommend others. However, due to the no under 12 yrs policy, my experience for the near future will be limited to lunch.

P.S. Does not come cheap - having dined at almost all the Thai places around town, this is easily the costliest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jacxine,

I would like to thank you for your visits to Thai Chi and posting your very complimentary review.
Regarding the starters and meal in general – it is very pleasing to note that you found the food excellent, we continue to strive to provide the most authentic Thai dining experience in Nairobi.

With regards to our child policy, understanding that some families wish to share the Thai dining experience with the entire family, we have relaxed our child policy on Weekend Lunch times, hence, please feel free to bring the young ones along during the weekend lunch hours.

Thank you and looking forward to hosting you soon again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    78
    40
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great attitude.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The service was fast. The manager, Mr. Titus, our waiters John and Immaculate had very pleasant and friendly attitude. They were very attentive and had good advices. The food was very tasty, hot enough, had the right amount of coconut flavor. All in all, a good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear BGolla,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Thai Chi, and taking the time to post a review. It is really pleasing to note that you had a wonderful experience and the staff mentioned have indeed been recognized for their efforts. It was also great to note you enjoyed the meals prepared, and our Thai Chefs got the flavor balance just right – it will be our pleasure to host you once again.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine by a Thai chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's not the same as visiting Thailand, but the offerings at the Thai Chi are as authentic as they can be in Kenya. (Don't mind the name of the restaurant, cheesy as it is.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ellen P,

Greetings from the Sarova Stanley, it was a pleasure hosting you at the hotel, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our services, including the Thai Chi Restaurant.
We pride ourselves in offering the best Thai dining in Nairobi, and wish to offer all our guests as authentic a Thai experience you can have within Kenya, from our décor, menu and service – thank you for recognizing this, and we do hope to see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thai Chi is by far the best thai restaurant in Nairobi. The food, the service and the ambiance are all great, but you'll pay for it. For those of you on a budget, probably not the best place to visit. Another positive, like most Thai restaurants, Thai Chi is Vege Friendly.

We wish we could visit a bit more often, but unfortunately, it's located in town and we hate fighting traffic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Rsidhpura,

Greetings, I would like to thank you for being a regular to Thai Chi and the team and I really appreciate you taking the time to post your highly complementary review.
Thank you for stating that we are the Best Thai in Nairobi, this is high praise indeed, and is supported by the numerous awards we have won this year – including best restaurant in a hotel.
Hope we see you soon, and please be sure to use our valet hotel parking services, so as to help ease the hassle of towns traffic.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food to a T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well we go here once every month and we love this place completely. The food, the ambiance, the staff, everything put together is awesome. If you like Thai food, this is THE place to visit when in Nairobi.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Shazad,

I would like to thank you for your very complimentary review and your continuous visits to Thai Chi.
We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself.
I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience, and the team and look very much forward to hosting yourselves once again.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.