We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai cuisine by a Thai chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine by a Thai chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's not the same as visiting Thailand, but the offerings at the Thai Chi are as authentic as they can be in Kenya. (Don't mind the name of the restaurant, cheesy as it is.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ellen P,

Greetings from the Sarova Stanley, it was a pleasure hosting you at the hotel, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our services, including the Thai Chi Restaurant.
We pride ourselves in offering the best Thai dining in Nairobi, and wish to offer all our guests as authentic a Thai experience you can have within Kenya, from our décor, menu and service – thank you for recognizing this, and we do hope to see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    77
    40
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thai Chi is by far the best thai restaurant in Nairobi. The food, the service and the ambiance are all great, but you'll pay for it. For those of you on a budget, probably not the best place to visit. Another positive, like most Thai restaurants, Thai Chi is Vege Friendly.

We wish we could visit a bit more often, but unfortunately, it's located in town and we hate fighting traffic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Rsidhpura,

Greetings, I would like to thank you for being a regular to Thai Chi and the team and I really appreciate you taking the time to post your highly complementary review.
Thank you for stating that we are the Best Thai in Nairobi, this is high praise indeed, and is supported by the numerous awards we have won this year – including best restaurant in a hotel.
Hope we see you soon, and please be sure to use our valet hotel parking services, so as to help ease the hassle of towns traffic.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food to a T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well we go here once every month and we love this place completely. The food, the ambiance, the staff, everything put together is awesome. If you like Thai food, this is THE place to visit when in Nairobi.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Shazad,

I would like to thank you for your very complimentary review and your continuous visits to Thai Chi.
We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself.
I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience, and the team and look very much forward to hosting yourselves once again.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very dissapointed - but Ravi stated changes will be made”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

That evening we decided to book at the Stanley's Thai Chi restaurant. Booking was not difficult. When we entered the restaurant was half full and we were very warmly greeted by the staff all in Thai attire. The ambiance of the restaurant was grand but very dark [difficult to read the menu] As the menu was difficult to read we were told that we would be assisted by a waiter For starters i ordered the Tom yam soup and my wife asked for grilled prawns the waiter showed my wife the item on the mennu which sted freid prawns - but the waiter assured us that they were grilled prawns. My starter was okay, not like a Thai Tom Yam soup, but similar. My wife got s few white balls of something which she found did not taste like prawns at all. She asked the waiter that these were not grilled prawns and she would not have this dish. It took our waiter a long time before he decided to take away the dish. By this time I had finidhed my starter. The mains were okay. A more senoir water explained that this was a dish with mashed up prawn with a variety of other ingredients but not grilled prawns. We left the restaurant disappointed.

Whilst eating the starter at the Thron tree restaurant the next evening,. Ravi the deputy food and beverage manager came to us and inquired about our evening the previous day. I was amazed that he took such an interest in our dissapointment. We explained everything to him and he stated that he would be making changes to the menu and also be looking into staff training. I thought that was so good Full marks for customer service. To top it up he waived our dinner bill charges. Despite our initial dissapointment, Ravi took so much care and attention to ensure our visit was not marred by this one incident that he must surely be one of the few hotel managers in the world worthy of 6 stars!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MO53RO55,

Thank you for visiting Thai Chi and providing us with your detailed review.

We have noted all the points raised and can assure you the relevant actions and trainings necessary have been acted on.

We would be delighted to host you once again and ensure that your experiance at Thai Chi exceeds all your expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Consistently very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had eaten meals at this restaurant almost everyday during my recent stay at Stanley Hotel. Being an Asian who have explored almost every "so-called best" restaurants in Nairobi, I must say, it remains to be the best Asian resto in the area! Both red and green Thai curries were perfectly prepared with the right amount of spices.. highly recommended. I love the honey glazed spareribs. The sweet and sour tilapia is also good. The portion of rice is quite huge and can be shared by 2 so it's worth checking before ordering another bowl.

I had sticky pudding for dessert which was average but it's acceptable. You don't go to a Thai restaurant for pudding!

The service in very good.. although too much attentiveness at times that it's sometimes bothersome to keep on replying to questions like "Are you enjoying your meal?" several times each visit.

I was informed that I can call for in-room dining which I did several times and was very happy to coveniently get excellent Asian food into my room. However, there was a time when the chef refused to prepare for in-room dining. The manager on duty apologized and offered to fix the issue.

The place is not open the entire day though.. it only opens on lunch time and re-opens at dinner time.

It is difficult to find a really good Asian restaurant across Africa but this one exceeds African standard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Wandering Diver,

Thank you for dining at Thai Chi and taking the time to review its services. We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience, specifically on the great level of service, presentation, food quality and reference to Thai Chi as the best Asian Restaurant in the Nairobi.
Please accept our apologies on the inconveniences faced with regards to the room service delivery, this matter has been addressed and resolved by the management. We have also noted your comments on the Sticky Toffee pudding and brought these views to the Executive Pastry Chefs attention.
I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.