We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently very good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Consistently very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had eaten meals at this restaurant almost everyday during my recent stay at Stanley Hotel. Being an Asian who have explored almost every "so-called best" restaurants in Nairobi, I must say, it remains to be the best Asian resto in the area! Both red and green Thai curries were perfectly prepared with the right amount of spices.. highly recommended. I love the honey glazed spareribs. The sweet and sour tilapia is also good. The portion of rice is quite huge and can be shared by 2 so it's worth checking before ordering another bowl.

I had sticky pudding for dessert which was average but it's acceptable. You don't go to a Thai restaurant for pudding!

The service in very good.. although too much attentiveness at times that it's sometimes bothersome to keep on replying to questions like "Are you enjoying your meal?" several times each visit.

I was informed that I can call for in-room dining which I did several times and was very happy to coveniently get excellent Asian food into my room. However, there was a time when the chef refused to prepare for in-room dining. The manager on duty apologized and offered to fix the issue.

The place is not open the entire day though.. it only opens on lunch time and re-opens at dinner time.

It is difficult to find a really good Asian restaurant across Africa but this one exceeds African standard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Wandering Diver,

Thank you for dining at Thai Chi and taking the time to review its services. We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience, specifically on the great level of service, presentation, food quality and reference to Thai Chi as the best Asian Restaurant in the Nairobi.
Please accept our apologies on the inconveniences faced with regards to the room service delivery, this matter has been addressed and resolved by the management. We have also noted your comments on the Sticky Toffee pudding and brought these views to the Executive Pastry Chefs attention.
I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    77
    40
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at Thai Chi, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thai Chi served up some amazing food, and Matilda, the hostess and Chef Poo were extremely hospitable and friendly. We had the Thai Papaya Salad, bok choy, a duck special and hor mok ta lee (seafood curry) with rice - each fresh and tasty. Both Matilda and the Chef were so welcoming and warm, and they made the trip even more special! Highly recommend this restaurant for authentic Thai food, but be prepared to splurge!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our award winning Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs. The staff mentioned are key members of our team and it is lovely to note that they were extremely hospitable, they will be acknowledged for their efforts.

I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed a pleasure to host you.

Welcome back,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Best meal in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My fiancee and I have enjoyed two amazing meals here the last three months. Having been to a number of cafes, restaurants and other eateries around the country, we both agree no food in Kenya comes close to this. The restaurant has a soothing atmosphere, the waiting staff is hard-working, very knowledgable and intends to meet your every demand. You are greeted by the big smile of the wonderful Matilda. Alex the waiter will stop at nothing to make your experience something special. Titus the manager is so kind, professional and genuinly interested. It is not a cheap restaurant, but it is worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued support and very generous review – rating us as the best in Kenya is high praise indeed, and has brought great pride to the team.

We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience specifically on the soothing ambiance and the attentive staff and are thrilled you enjoyed our services.

Titus and the team have been passed on your kind words and they are looking forward to hosting you and your fiancé once again.

Thank you once again,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hedland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant for our wedding anniversary, great service, great food and great ambience. We enjoyed every moment of it. They could do more in terms of special occasions and pricing ( Abit over priced) Keep up the good work though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary at Thai Chi and for your most complimentary review.

Fantastic to note we exceeded your expectations in terms of service, food and ambiance and it is very pleasing that you enjoyed every moment at the restaurant. At Thai Chi we strive to create lasting pleasant memories for all our guests, and I can assure you on your next visit we shall ensure that we recognize your special moments.

We very much look forward to hosting you again,

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its a nice restaurant in the hotel with all the offering for the thai food lovers as i find it nice as i am not a very good lover of thai food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to dine at and review our Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.