We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Best meal in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My fiancee and I have enjoyed two amazing meals here the last three months. Having been to a number of cafes, restaurants and other eateries around the country, we both agree no food in Kenya comes close to this. The restaurant has a soothing atmosphere, the waiting staff is hard-working, very knowledgable and intends to meet your every demand. You are greeted by the big smile of the wonderful Matilda. Alex the waiter will stop at nothing to make your experience something special. Titus the manager is so kind, professional and genuinly interested. It is not a cheap restaurant, but it is worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued support and very generous review – rating us as the best in Kenya is high praise indeed, and has brought great pride to the team.

We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience specifically on the soothing ambiance and the attentive staff and are thrilled you enjoyed our services.

Titus and the team have been passed on your kind words and they are looking forward to hosting you and your fiancé once again.

Thank you once again,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    51
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Hedland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant for our wedding anniversary, great service, great food and great ambience. We enjoyed every moment of it. They could do more in terms of special occasions and pricing ( Abit over priced) Keep up the good work though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary at Thai Chi and for your most complimentary review.

Fantastic to note we exceeded your expectations in terms of service, food and ambiance and it is very pleasing that you enjoyed every moment at the restaurant. At Thai Chi we strive to create lasting pleasant memories for all our guests, and I can assure you on your next visit we shall ensure that we recognize your special moments.

We very much look forward to hosting you again,

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its a nice restaurant in the hotel with all the offering for the thai food lovers as i find it nice as i am not a very good lover of thai food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to dine at and review our Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food-great ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

i had a lunch meeting here with friends and indeed, albeit the price tag, they do have Great food with great ambiance!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us over lunch and review our services.

The restaurant offers the eclectic Thai experiences from the food, the traditional sitting, to the general décor and I am pleased that your dining highlight was the Great Food and Ambiance.

We look very much forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The Best Thai Restaurant In Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly almost charmin atmosphere with nice design and hospitable staff, delicious Thai cousin, variety of dishes, slightly pricy and nicely spicy, you will enjoy to be here for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to post your most complimentary review.
It is extremely pleasing to note that you found the ambiance of the restaurant charming, the staff hospitable and the cuisine of a highly delectable taste, your comments have been very welcomed by the team, it was a privilege to have you dine with us and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.