We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but totally overpriced!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, but totally overpriced!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley Hotel and went to the inhouse restaurant Thai Chi. Although service and food was very good, it was totally overpriced. We ordered a Thai green curry US$20 and had to pay a further US$10 for the rice or noodles. In contrast you can have a complete gastronomic experience (world calls) at the Fairview hotel (Pango Restaurant). 3 courses worked out cheaper.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Stanly and taking time to review Thai Chi.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal experience with us and highly appreciate your feedback and have taken a keen interest in the issues raised. We have re-looked at the entire pricing range of the restaurant this year – and in retrospect, we are competitive when it comes to fine dining restaurants within hotels in Kenya.

I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    77
    40
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

One of those few restaurants that I would visit again and again! The trouble with many Thai restaurants is that they don't give you the 'Thai' feel, and this isn't the case with Thai Chi! There is an exotic feel to it, the entrance is magnificent and the overall service is awesome. Although prices are a bit steep, it is difficult to complain, given the quality of the food and service! I haven't had a better tomyam soup (used to have it everyday in Malay) in ages. Totally recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thai Chi restaurant.

We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience specifically on the “Thai Feel” of the restaurant. The restaurant offers eclectic Thai experiences from the food, the traditional sitting, to the general décor and we are pleased that you found this agreeable.
Our Tom yam soup is one of our signature dishes – and am glad you rated it very highly.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our services at Thai Chi, we strive to achieve and maintain the same standards throughout the Stanley.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

One of the fine dining places in Nairobi and definitely a must for Thai food lovers.

The ambiance and service lives up to the 5 star rating... the food however deserves special mention, the flavors are exquisite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs. I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed a pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
“Delightful, tasteful and delicious…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lucy Imali, the restaurant manager, is a master at her craft, successfully convincing me to give the Thai-Chi a try while recently staying at the Sarova Stanley. From the moment you enter through the beautiful entrance, one is teleported to a place of supreme service, friendliness and fantastic food! The pleasant ambiance is a crucial supporting element to the overall Thai-Chi experience. Receiving resourceful advice on culinary options, I opted for the honey glazed duck. The presentation of the food, the food and the overwhelming service excellence made my experience at the Thai-Chi a most satisfying and memorable one. A big thank you to Lucy and your team.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Average and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Outrageous pricing even for a 5 star hotel. Average food. 12 dollar bottles of water. Save some money and go anywhere else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us.

I hope that you found the ambience and food pleasing.

We take note your sentiments regarding the price of bottled water and have since then profiled alternative brands.

The pricing at Thai chi is in line with international standards of restaurants in its caliber however we are working on giving our guests a variety of products to better suit their needs.

I hope that you will patron with us again.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.